good pc for games under £250 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2006, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default good pc for games under £250

I need a relatively good pc for my games .I dont need the specs to be great but just something that will do the job (gameing) and has the capeability to be upgrade graphically. My budget is quite low at £250.
__________________

sailpog is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 10:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

My brother has a AMD 64 3000, Gigabyte 6100 mobo, ATI X1600pro, Aspire Qpack case and 1gb of ram costing him £360. Do not get anything below this, as it is really just not worth it. Save up the extra money.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

do you know the name of this computer and where i can buy it from
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 11:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I built it. I got the components from www.scan.co.uk

Pre built gaming PC's you are going to have to look at spending £1000 and above for them to stick a half decent GPU in.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 11:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Look at www.ebuyer.com www.overclockers.co.uk and www.scan.co.uk they are the best UK sites to buy from.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
My brother has a AMD 64 3000, Gigabyte 6100 mobo, ATI X1600pro, Aspire Qpack case and 1gb of ram costing him £360. Do not get anything below this, as it is really just not worth it. Save up the extra money.
Those are some of the components ,but do you think you could give me a full component list so i know what to look at . As you might have geussed i am COMPLETELY new to buying and building pcs. Ive always had a mac.
sailpog is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

That is basically all that is in it. lol.

LN10546 AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Socket939 , Venice Core, 1.8GHz , 512KB Cache, Retail £58.18 £68.36
LN11240 1GB (2X512MB) Corsair Value Select, DDR PC3200 (400), 184 Pin, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 2.5 £49.50 £58.16
LN12214 Gigabyte GA-K8N51GMF-9 NF4, S939, PCI-E (x16), DDR 400, SATA II, SATA RAID, uATX, On Board VGA £34.19 £40.17
LN13550 LG GSA-H10ABAL Black 16x16 & ±RW/RAM Dual Layer DVDRW Writer OEM UK £20.59 £24.19
LN13202 256Mb Sapphire ATI X1600PRO DDR2 VGA TVO DVI PCI-E Retail £59.63 £70.07
LN11807 Aspire X-Qpack Black Silver uATX Aluminum Case with 420W v2.0PSU £58.17 £68.35
LN12539 80 Gb Maxtor 6V080E0 DiamondMax 10, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 8MB Cache, NCQ, 9.0 ms £26.82 £31.51
If you change any quantities, please re-calculate your basket
Scan Finance - Buy Now Pay Feb 2007
Pay £37.26 deposit and then NO payments for 9 months, then settle the balance and pay NO interest.

Scan Finance - More Sense Than Money


Net Total £307.08

Carriage £10.00

V.A.T. £55.49

TOTAL £372.57
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

hmm
harry18 is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

whats to hmmm about?
__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 12:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

To trifid:
So this has all of the stuff i need to build a fully functuning pc . Which will play the latest games providing i keep updating any parts which become outdated. And finally i need to install XP on it.
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.