Is this Good overclocking 2g RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2005, 06:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default Is this Good overclocking 2g RAM?

ok i was origanally gonna get 1g but i heard alot of people talking how most games within the next year will require 1g minimum so i decided to go 2g. i just want to know if this RAM is good for overclokcing, cuase im a noob in overclocking i will need my uncles help for overclocking my new opteron 144. so i just need to know if this is good ram for overclocking an opteron 144(1.8ghz) to about 2.6ghz?

http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820141227

and if this isnt i cant really go over about 175$ for RAM cuase my parents only gave me a 1000$ budget.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 07:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

That stuff isn't going to go very far...it's already pretty stretched out just operating at DDR400 speeds

I still don't see the need for 2GB...the only two games that have actually shown a need for more than 1GB are BF2 and FEAR...FEAR itself is just terribly optimized and BF2 is understandable when you have a high traffic 32 person server to play on...two games don't justify spending that much more money on memory and if you're serious about overclocking you'll get nowhere with that sort of budget and 2GB
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 08:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to ferris
Default

Isn't OCZ the way to go for Overclocking RAM?
ferris is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 01:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

try to find some pc 4000 ram
efd753 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 06:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

i play counter-strike: source and it usually use around 600mb of RAM but after receiving an update, it's now using over 1gb of ram cuz the update that they just released will take advantage of the 64-bit XP and utilize dual-core processors

it used to utilize only 50% but now both processors are 100% utilized. graphics are even so much better now. very big improvement and even smoother as well.

i think that 2gb is only good for people who has 64-bit XP and dual-core processors
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

i thought it just supported 64 bit processing? where in the update news/logs did it say dual core CPUs are supported!? I don't think so....not yet.
__________________

__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.