good mobo for AMD Phenoms ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2008, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?

i am planning to get AMD Phenom 9600 BE, and i need real good mobo for it around $150 ,any good idea?and i won't go sli or crossfire.thx.
__________________

pkxo is offline  
Old 01-17-2008, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?

MSI k9a2(790x) is 100 dollars. its about the cheapest. the k9a2 platinum (790fx) is tri-crossfire, its 175.

the "real good" phenom mobo would be the DFI 790fx-m2r.
its like 250 bucks though.

EDIT:
the nvidia am2+ mobo's are slated to be released sometime this quarter.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 07:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?

I would get the k9a2 Platinium but its about 10$ of your budget, but the MSI k9a2 is good, and the Asus m3a is decent too
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?

thanks for the input guys.probably will get the Asus m3a.
pkxo is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 08:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?

i say the MSI K9A2 Platinum, in case u want to upgrade to FX or something, but that is just me.

i also want to support 2 HD 3870 x2's in Crossfire n i will be able to do it with this mobo, so another reason y i got it.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 06:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?

So, you want to pay $150-$200 for a mobo ?

If I were I would get GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard for $100 with Q6600 which perform better than Phenom 9600, and I think that the total price would be cheaper as well

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Retail

I'm just giving you my suggestion, so I hope that AMD fanboys don't come here and attack me.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?



LOL
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?

OMG IM SO SCARED!!!!

*turns of monitor*

lol that was a good one!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 12:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: good mobo for AMD Phenoms ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
MSI k9a2(790x) is 100 dollars. its about the cheapest. the k9a2 platinum (790fx) is tri-crossfire, its 175.
K9A2 Platinum supports quad-crossfire. All dual-slot, too.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a mobo, CPU and RAM for ocing thenovices New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 01:14 AM
is this a good mainboard? caliman PC Gaming 2 10-07-2007 01:42 PM
Good Webcam? SiZcO Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 04-07-2007 02:21 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM
Hehe I am not having a good week...Mobo Dingadilly Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-29-2007 02:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.