Good HDD for RAID - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2010, 02:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default Good HDD for RAID

I'm looking to upgrade my computer a bit for a little bit of cash and I decided it might be nice to have a RAID array. Be it for performance or data protection.

Right now I have a good 750GB WDC 32MB 7200RPM drive. (Looking to have that as the data drive if I do a RAID 0 and keep it off the array) Or if its better to do I believe its RAID 5 where you have 2+ drives storing and 1 drive thats protecting them.

Anyway what do you guys think and what are some good options to check out for some inexpensive SATA drives that still have performance
__________________

JosephBarker is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Good HDD for RAID

Well first of all I'd recommend deciding whether you want increased redundancy or increased speed. I'm going to assume you'll keep your most important data backed up on your 750Gb drive and want a faster setup.

The Western Digital Blue drives are very reliable, I'd suggest getting two of those and putting them in a RAID0 array.
They're also pretty cheap, so it won't hurt your wallet too much
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Good HDD for RAID

Oh yes most important will stay on 750GB...

Now if I were to buy 3 would it be much better than 2...basically is it worth the extra.
Also if I do RAID 0 do I reinstall my OS onto the RAID and install my games onto the array that way It helps the performance there? Because it seems to me if my os isn't on the array it won't run as the array
JosephBarker is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Good HDD for RAID

Hows this HDD look... Pretty good deal on it too...plus id get free shipping

Western Digital WD5000AAKS Caviar Blue Hard Drive - 500GB, 7200rpm, 16MB, SATA-300, OEM at TigerDirect.com
JosephBarker is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Good HDD for RAID

Yep you'll have to reinstall your OS on the raid.

As to how much better 3 drives would be than 2, I'm not sure. Basically in a RAID0 setup, the data is broken up and distributed to all the drives. So theoretically, as you add more and more drives to the setup, the percentage of speed increase at which the files are written should decrease.

edit: so yes, 3 drives should be better than 2.
edit edit: and yes, that drive looks fine.
edit edit edit: no, not exponentially. My mind was elsewhere
edit edit edit edit: and again, it's not totally correct to just multiply it either. But for the number of drives you're dealing with, yeah it's close enough I guess
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 02:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Good HDD for RAID

Ah so Its exponentially instead of multiplying? That would be saying 3 over 2 would be 10x better instead of 33 percent better.
JosephBarker is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 03:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Good HDD for RAID

Good enough for me, thanks a lot for the discussion and help
JosephBarker is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 03:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Good HDD for RAID

no probs!
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer not recognizing HDD when Optical is connected too? Hookster264 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-12-2009 05:44 PM
Good Gaming/Stereo headset with mic? Akubane New Systems | Building and Buying 9 02-01-2009 11:55 AM
Start Failure - Win XP SATA HDD with SATA DVD re-writer petersforster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 11-28-2008 05:57 PM
C zone of IBM/Hitachi HDD SalvationDATA Laptops and Notebooks 0 12-27-2007 02:04 AM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.