Is this a good combo? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2007, 02:34 AM   #21 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Is this a good combo?

Hey nagasama remember when we said when the X2 hit in the 60's everyone should buy them?

Heh the OEM is 65 and you can add an Alpine64 for 10 bucks more and hit like 2.6ghz with it.

God the lower models of X2's are so much better in money than Intels it's not even funny...I mean I can't even recommened any more Intel builds under 800 bucks anymore becuase the X2 3600, Biostar 550, and an Arctic Freezer 64 is the exact same price as a single

I just want to know how cheap the X2's will be when the E4300 is dropped down to $113....yikes!

I remember when I used to get called an Intel fanboy becuase I said that AMD wasn't the king of performance and now I just put X2's in my builds haha

E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 02:19 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Is this a good combo?

i hear you sora, for $65 you can't really beat it.

maybe sub $50's or $40's??


My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware |
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 04:29 PM   #23 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Is this a good combo?

yeah i am trying to decide if i am going to go ahead and get a 3600 and the
T550. try and oc it thru the roof, and if i fail, build my mom a rig using them.
or, if i should wait (lol lol) for the new kuma to come out in Q3 and build myself a new one and use my old parts for hers. hmmm...decisions decisions.
i have read more about the 65nm amds and it seems that architecture is the same as 90nm, only the power consumption is less, along with the heat. so, i dunno if i can pull a higher o.c. with it than i can with my 4200. i can get to 2.85 ish or so with it. i have heard that my nf4 chipset is really whats stopping me. apokalipse gets his 4400 (i think) up to 3+ with a 590 chipset.
i wish they made a 590 chipset mobo that wasnt sli. the best they make non-sli is a 570 ultra. i just dont know...
i dunno if the 570 overclocks very well, and there aren't many choices as far as mobos. abit, asus, epox and a few more. i do like abit, but am afraid the fsb limit may hinder me as it does in my current mobo.
now, the 3600 has a multiplier of 9.5, and to get to 3ghz that means the fsb would need to be 315ish. if i have a mobo that will clock to 315 fsb, then my 4200 will (in theory) reach like 3.4ish. i'm not holding my breath for that high, but i would like to break past 3ghz.
so, my dilema is....
but the 3600 and T550 and see if i can do it (this will cost about 150 dollars)
or buy the foxconn (or another. suggestions?) mobo with the 590 chipset and PROBABLY break 3ghz with my 4200. this will cost about 180ish dollars.
the main review i have read about oc ing a 4200 uses the foxconn board and the 4200 they are using is the same stepping as mine. they got right to 3ghz and were able to stabilize it. anything more and they went to water. and they didnt get too much farther. from 3001 to like 3070.

"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is GoDaddy really any good veg1992 Web Graphics and Design 7 04-16-2007 10:34 PM
A-DATA ram any good? pkxo New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-01-2007 10:37 AM
Need a good anti keylogger software beton Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-01-2007 06:51 AM
Any good flight sim games? pc_boy PC Gaming 9 03-29-2007 02:58 PM
Good CPU temp monitoring program? Shafra Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-26-2007 12:51 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.