Good build ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 03:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default Good build ?

I was going to get this build for my new computer. Just wondering if it's a good build. It's mostly for Photoshop / 3D Modeling, but also for moderate gaming.

Mobo : Motherbard

RAM :
RAM

CPU :
CPU

Video Card:
Video Card

PSU:
Power Supply

^^(3 electrical engineers on another forum recommended this)^^

Case:
Case

I'm going to be reusing my 200GB and 40GB HDD's, same with my CD-RW, and DVD+-RW


It's a huge improvement from what I have now :

AMD Athlon 2100+ (1.6 GHZ)

512 MB PC2100 RAM

Generic 450W PSU

GeForce4 MX4000 128MB

ASUS Motherboard, Socket A, 512 max RAM


Does anyone think this will be able to run F.E.A.R and BF2, at pretty good settings ?



Thanks,
~Cryogenic
__________________

Cryogenic is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

How much are you looking at spending, because you really should get better ram and a better mobo. It should be able to run F.E.A.R and BF2 at like medium or better I think. Let someone that knows more about that video card tell you, but definitely look for a new mobo and ram.
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Looking for a system that's under $600. That one is at around $580.

I know the RAM is off-brand, but a lot of people that wrote reviews on it said it ruled.

I'll try to find a better mobo, and RAM, though...
Cryogenic is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

How's this RAM ?

RAM

Or this ?

Another


Is it worth the extra $20 for Corsair ?

Corsair RAM


Here's some OCZ, which is $140 after a MIR

OCZ RAM
Cryogenic is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Go with the G.Skill

Yo, if u are using the computer for 3d and video editing, do not get a single core AMD, the only way AMD competes ( and by competes i mean woops) with intel is with the Dual Cores. AMD is not as good as the intel ( i mean the single core amd) when it comes to 3d/video editing. If u cant afford a Dual Core AMD, get a Single core Intel. but if u CAN! afford a Dual core amd, DEFINITELY get it.

DO NOT CHEAP OUT ON PSU!!! get an antec or something, dont get a brand no1 has heard of, your more likely to fry your ENTIRE computer.

And thats about it. good luck.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

Alright, thanks John.


~Cryogenic
Cryogenic is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 02:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 33
Default

How's this mobo ?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131541

At least it's an ASUS.

If anyone knows of a better mobo that can support 4GB of RAM, and PCI-X, please post it. I can go up to $70 for it.
__________________

Cryogenic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.