good build? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default good build?

CPU: Athlon 64 3700 (San Diego Core)

mobo:MSI K8N Neo4-F

video card: eVGA Geforce 6800GS 256MB

Ram:OCZ PC-3200 DDR400 Premier Series 1GB (2x512MB)

hard drive:Western Digital Caviar SATA II (WD1600JS) 160GB 7200RPM 8MB Buffer (OEM)

Fan:Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu-LED

case:Cooler Master Centurion 5 PearlWhite Tower PC Case

Power source:Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550 Power supply ATX12V 2.01 550 Watt

Is this a good build, or should i change some stuff.
__________________

juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Looks like a good build to me. I don't think you're going to need a 550 watt power supply. You might be able to shave off a few dollars by getting a 450 watt.
__________________

__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default

Just wondering but what settings would i be able to play BF2 with this comp, would it be good enough for med settings?
juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

With my 6800 Ultra, 1GB, and 2.0GHz Pentium M I could play on High, but it wasn't playable. It lagged like ****.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 144
Default

replace 3700+ with 3200+ and use the extra money to get a 7800gt or another gig of ram (2 x 1gb) then u will be fine
__________________
(>-.-)==>
RepuLse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.