Is this a good build? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2010, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Is this a good build?

i don't know much about hot-swapable hdds, but that hdd looks like it's only supposed to be used with certain servers.

but dang, that's a **** load of money for just 250gb.


anyway, for a gfx card you should look for a 4850, 5750 or spend a little more on a 5770.

and don't get an lga775 build. with your budget, you will get more bang for your buck from an amd based build. also, amd has a bigger upgrade path since their new 6-core cpus will be coming out for their am3 socket.

if you tell us your budget and your intended use for this pc, we could help you make a better build though.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is this a good build?

My budget is about 700$. That includes the moniter. I plan on using this for gaming
Devilitez is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Is this a good build?

What do you need a 250gb "server" drive for? I always thought you could use any hard drive as a hotswapable one if you changed around some settings?

Cause that's taking a rather large chunk out of your budget too.
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 10:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is this a good build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkpitt45 View Post
What do you need a 250gb "server" drive for? I always thought you could use any hard drive as a hotswapable one if you changed around some settings?

Cause that's taking a rather large chunk out of your budget too.
Lol I didnt notice to "server" part. Ill change right now
Devilitez is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 12:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Is this a good build?

do you need an OS?
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is this a good build?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
do you need an OS?
Nope.
Devilitez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good build or not? TheHumanComputer New Systems | Building and Buying 4 05-03-2009 08:48 AM
Is my build good? overlord20 New Systems | Building and Buying 52 10-28-2008 12:57 AM
New build... good to go? JeffK91 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 03-12-2008 07:58 PM
Monster cable vs coathangers superdave1984 Computer Audio and Multimedia 58 03-10-2008 03:31 AM
A good $700 Gaming Build? Poemaster New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-06-2007 12:06 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.