Gonna try to get a faster boot.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2007, 09:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

i'd uncheck them all besides my antivirus.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 12:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

Lols, i dont have anti virus haha, stupid windows live one care does not work with 64 bit vista. Stupid microsoft.

Anyway, hm.... yes i have a Raptor X but it takes like 16 passes, that progress bar thingy, for windows to load. It should be faster.

And yes, I have my main OS installed on the Raptor and all other datas, music, videos, and photos except softwares and stuff are installed on the Seagate drive.
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 12:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

Ok, wow i disabled almost half of it and still 16 passes in the progress bar. Hm....

Edit: and on the Task Manager, it went from 62 to 54 processes.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

jesus christ mine barely makes one pass...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Paisan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 132
Send a message via AIM to Paisan Send a message via Yahoo to Paisan
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

64 processes is insanely high. you really shouldnt have more than high 20s, low 30s unless you are always doing a lot of multitasking.

do as commandercup recommends. i do that "clean boot" whenever i game on my work machine to eliminate the garbage.
Paisan is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

Hm... Okay, i think the reason why it takes me 15 - 16 passes is because of some SoundMax Driver thingy.

When that driver is not loaded when I changed the Sound on the BIOS from HD to AC37, and booted windows vista, it only took 4 passes to fully load. But then I dont have any sound because the driver is not loaded, so when I install the driver, it takes 15-16 passes. Thats just crap!

I dont know but I do know that whats causing it is the Sound Max HD Audio Driver provided by ASUS that came with my mobo.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 03:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

sounds to me like your installing the wrong driver
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

its the drivers that came with my mobo so it not wrong. duh
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

get a generic/tweaked/different driver for it.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 11:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Gonna try to get a faster boot....

How do I get to this menu that allows me to choose what boots up. And when you mean pass what counts as one pass just one across or a full cross and return?

EDIT: nvm i just typed in msconfig in the start menu (vista), now im gonna count my passes.

EDIT: (again) yeah passes only go from left to right, and after disabling aim, xfire, and steam, its 5-6 passes
__________________

__________________
san21893 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Question about setting up a tri boot /w a raid. kiyotaka Linux and Open Source 2 07-13-2007 03:28 PM
5 minute, 49 second boot up time, please help! otbpaintball Microsoft Windows and Software 12 05-09-2007 09:11 PM
How to boot from a boot disk? Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:53 PM
Boot Mgr Missing ??? RedTail Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-01-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.