Going into uncharted building territory - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2008, 03:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 102
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

Yes, the Biostar I45 is crossfire compatible.

If you're really going to go with two 4870s, you might want to just get a 4870X2. That would also allow 3 card crossfire (the 4870X2 + an additional 4870) but you reach a point of diminishing returns with super high-end stuff like that. What resolution do you use?
__________________

Gustave5436 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 03:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustave5436 View Post
Yes, the Biostar I45 is crossfire compatible.

If you're really going to go with two 4870s, you might want to just get a 4870X2. That would also allow 3 card crossfire (the 4870X2 + an additional 4870) but you reach a point of diminishing returns with super high-end stuff like that. What resolution do you use?
My monitor's native is 1900x1200, which is usually what I run in games as well, except for Crysis lol.

And you're saying I can run the 4870x2 and a normal 4870 in crossfire? I thought they had to be the exact same but hey, like I said, I'm new to this area so if you say they will, I'll take your word for it.
Is the x2 just basically two of the regular ones packed into one?

Oh and one last question (sorry lol, i'm newbin up this place pretty bad) the board you linked me to is DDR2 1200, would I be able to put in memory lower than that (DDR 1066) and have it work, or would it be STRICTLY 1200? I noticed there wasn't much at all for 1200, but I found some real nice 1066 ones that I was going to get, so just wanted to ask.
__________________

bigfoot1291 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

Yeah, 1 X2 is basically 2 4870's in one, but all in all, the performance is around 5~15% better than 2 4870's in crossfire, and it'll run at full X16/2.0 bandwidth, instead of a motherboard which may only support the 4870's in X16/X8 or less. (The expensive ones aside the K9A2 Plat which I have are the only ones that have X16/X16 anyways.)

I had an X2, and for 50 bucks-ish~ less than dual-4870's, the performance is noticably better, and thats what matters.

Btw, one 4870's overclocking potential is insane. I didn't get a chance to play with the X2 (When I decided to try overclocking, I had already taken it back because I needed the cash. ), but if you can keep the 4870 stable, you won't need an X2. (Clocked mine stable at 889Mhz/1350Mhz, from 740Mhz/900Mhz)
Kyonu is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:58 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 102
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfoot1291 View Post
My monitor's native is 1900x1200, which is usually what I run in games as well, except for Crysis lol.

And you're saying I can run the 4870x2 and a normal 4870 in crossfire? I thought they had to be the exact same but hey, like I said, I'm new to this area so if you say they will, I'll take your word for it.
Is the x2 just basically two of the regular ones packed into one?
They're kind of the same, as yes, an X2 is two of the cards together. However, as I mentioned, afaik there's really a diminishing returns problem past 2 GPUs. At 1900x1200 you could probably make use of a 4870x2 but it will be overkill in many applications (i.e. not crysis, age of conan, etc.)

Quote:
Oh and one last question (sorry lol, i'm newbin up this place pretty bad) the board you linked me to is DDR2 1200, would I be able to put in memory lower than that (DDR 1066) and have it work, or would it be STRICTLY 1200? I noticed there wasn't much at all for 1200, but I found some real nice 1066 ones that I was going to get, so just wanted to ask.
Up to and including. You can use plain old DDR2 800 if you want.
Gustave5436 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 01:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustave5436 View Post
They're kind of the same, as yes, an X2 is two of the cards together. However, as I mentioned, afaik there's really a diminishing returns problem past 2 GPUs. At 1900x1200 you could probably make use of a 4870x2 but it will be overkill in many applications (i.e. not crysis, age of conan, etc.)
So basically, if I did a 4870x2 and normal 4870, it just wouldn't be using them at full potential? If that's the case, I may just get the x2, then wait a while and later on get a second x2, if a normal 4870 wouldn't add much additional power.
On another note, never having dealt with ATI's products before, I don't have any personal experience with their brands. Can anyone recommend a good brand that they've had good quality in the past? I was going to go with ASUS's card, since I've always liked their motherboards, but newegg was out. I'll check a couple other sites.

Quote:
Up to and including. You can use plain old DDR2 800 if you want.
Awesome, great to hear. I'm probably going to go with something like this: Newegg.com - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
bigfoot1291 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyonu View Post
(Clocked mine stable at 889Mhz/1350Mhz, from 740Mhz/900Mhz)
holy crap....
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 08:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 102
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfoot1291 View Post
So basically, if I did a 4870x2 and normal 4870, it just wouldn't be using them at full potential? If that's the case, I may just get the x2, then wait a while and later on get a second x2, if a normal 4870 wouldn't add much additional power.
On another note, never having dealt with ATI's products before, I don't have any personal experience with their brands. Can anyone recommend a good brand that they've had good quality in the past? I was going to go with ASUS's card, since I've always liked their motherboards, but newegg was out. I'll check a couple other sites.
No, it's that (1) it would be overkill and you wouldn't generally notice any difference and (2) the price-performance ratio gets worse and worse as price increases.

AnandTech: AMD's Radeon HD 4870 X2 - Testing the Multi-GPU Waters

In a couple applications adding a second 4870X2 is nearly a 50% increase, but in the rest there is either no benefit or only a mild benefit.[/QUOTE]
Gustave5436 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 09:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

asus cards are expensive.
visiontek has lifetime warranty (if you care).
sapphire and a few others have 2 year, some have 1 year (diamond...4 thumbs down)
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 10:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

AHHEM... Crossfire.. Too much blue in here..

I just bought this.. Will be in tomorrow
Newegg.com - ASUS M3A32-MVP Deluxe/WiFi AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 11:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Going into uncharted building territory

I am actually using the MSI K9a2 Platinum with a Phenom quad-core. I wouldnt go back to anything else.

Computer:
Computer Type ACPI x86-based PC
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium
OS Service Pack Service Pack 1
Internet Explorer 8.0.6001.18241
DirectX DirectX 10.0
Computer Name TALCAF
User Name nismo720
SMTP E-mail Address nismo720@jmcomputersinc.com
Logon Domain talcaf
Date / Time 2008-09-24 / 23:01

Motherboard:
CPU Type QuadCore AMD Phenom 9850, 2500 MHz (12.5 x 200)
Motherboard Name MSI K9A2 Platinum (MS-7376) (2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 4 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR2 DIMM, Audio, Dual Gigabit LAN, IEEE-1394)
Motherboard Chipset AMD 790FX, AMD K10
System Memory 3328 MB (DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM)
DIMM1: Muskin 991593 (996593) 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 MHz)
DIMM2: Muskin 991593 (996593) 2 GB DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM (5-5-5-18 @ 400 MHz) (4-4-4-12 @ 266 MHz)
BIOS Type AMI (06/17/08)

Display:
Video Adapter ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (512 MB)
Video Adapter ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (512 MB)
Monitor HP w2007 [20" LCD] (CNN7422HKB)
Monitor Sony SDM-S71 [17" LCD] (4024819)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter ATI Radeon HDMI @ ATI RV770 - High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Adapter Realtek ALC888/S/T @ ATI SB600 - High Definition Audio Controller


This board does support crossfire, I haven't been able to save up enough to get my additional 4850 yet myself. This was a clean simple install, pop in the board make the connections, everything worked fine in Vista right out of the box. I use this system for a little bit of everything, from web design to heavy graphics work to high-end gaming on a daily basis, I have no problems and great performance out of this setup.
__________________

nismo720 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
building pc better? wangie444 System Upgrades 5 08-22-2008 12:42 PM
Custom Building laptops Rakaa Laptops and Notebooks 4 04-18-2008 11:31 PM
Computer Building Help FATAL FLAW System Upgrades 11 03-20-2008 04:00 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.