going evga! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2008, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default going evga!

well i canceled my xfx order before it was shiped off today and will order this before the week is out, there is a itle bit of toruble considerign the new baby so i probably wotn order till friday but im going evga for one reason. 309$ thats right 309$ for a 9800gtx by evga.NCIX.com - Buy EVGA E-GEFORCE 9800GTX 675MHZ 512MB 2.2GHZ GDDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDCP HDTV Out Video Card - 512-P3-N871-AR In Canada.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: going evga!

What voltages, fsb speeds, etc. do you use for your Q6600? I have the same board and processor, well mines a plain Asus P5E x38, and I have it at 3.0GHz now on a Xigmatek cooler (idles at 28-35C per core and on a load of 2-F@H clients[50% of total CPU usage] and Crysis running it sits at 52C or lower per core). Shouldn't I be able to get it to atleast 3.4 stable?

Also, I've got the 9800GX2 for this system. The first card was DoA, so once I get the second card up and running I'll tell you all the 3dmark06 score.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 01:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: going evga!

it all depends on you VID really, im at 1.42 volts right now. 1.6 for my north brdge and 2.2 for my ram. depending on yoru vid you should be able to push farther then me due to your heat sink.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 01:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: going evga!

Do you use the auto voltage adjustments or do all that manually? I have only entered in the multiplyer to x9 and fsb to 333mhz manually to get me the 3GHz. I also haven't messed with my RAM timings or voltages as well as my northbridge. Any suggestions on how to get my cpu at a good stable 3.4GHz? I don't want it to push past that because I still want longevity.

Right now the card I have is a 9600GT but I will be upgrading that once the new (working) card arrives. I have 4(2x2GB) 1066 OCZ Reaper memory.

I had it at 3.4GHz once and it had a random BSOD when I was trying to access my external hard drive. Not sure if that was related to the CPU overclock and voltages or not.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 01:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: going evga!

u will have longevity as long as you dont go above 71c, voltage doesnt matter they recomend 1.55 but if your under 71c load, then the no matter what ur voltage is it cant damage it because the voltage is what damages the chip once it gets above 71c, same goes for if your under 1.55 and your above 71c. i recomend pushing as far as you can get stable. i set all my voltages manually. your bsod probably ocured because of auto voltage, as i have an external and access it all the time and i never get a problem.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 02:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: going evga!

Can you give me some good voltage reccomendations and for the different parts?

CPU, RAM, Northbridge, etc. Or point me to a good instruction for this motherboard/cpu combo or just the cpu perhaps.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 02:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: going evga!

when pushing past 400fsb i fel safer at 1.6 north bridge maybe even 1.55 for your cpu try to go as high as you can at 1.44 run 3d mark if you crach at the cpu test increase yoru voltage a litle, until you reach laod temps of above 71c. for your ram depending o nthe ram you should be running at 2.2v. i would try booting 400fsb, at 1.48 volts, and with cpu vdrop you end up around 1.42 1.38 for your cpu, if its not safe try 1.52 whichl bring you down to just about 1.45 1.48. post back with results, also have your ram at a 1to 1 ration with your fsb, and set your timmings at 4-4-4-12. once yoru over clock is stable, then push your ram to a higher mhz.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: going evga!

all his and yours will be different, yall have different boards, the vid on your cpu will be different prolly. just use what the factory recommended for ram

also for op nice choice with evga. you might be able to do the 90 day up if the 9900 come out in time
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 02:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: going evga!

well it also gives me enough cash to order crysis lol. im very exited about getting this card but am dissapointed its not xfx, i <3 xfx so much i actually feel bad for wanting to get this lol, im such a nerd.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 03:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: going evga!

haha ya xfx is good too. eh crysis is awesome cept the ending sucks
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA 680i Trade-Up Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-11-2008 04:34 PM
Evga 6 Series Boards get Wolfdale support maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-23-2008 10:49 AM
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
What's the difference? 3 Mobo's all EVGA smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-18-2007 03:05 PM
xfx v evga jaybe1 New Systems | Building and Buying 39 10-01-2007 10:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.