Giving my PC a major upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2016, 10:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default Giving my PC a major upgrade

OK so back in 2014 I built a "gaming" pc with an AMD A6 6400k with an R7 240 and 4GB of ram and well, it sucked. It could play TF2 at 30FPS at medium settings. But I want to get back into pc building and I'm willing to spend more money this time lol. The goal of this PC is to be able to get games like DOOM, Unreal Tournament and Quake Champions running at medium-high settings at a decent frame rate. However I'm still on a budget and I'm going to be using some parts from my 2014 pc in this new build. This is what I had in mind.

AMD FX 8320
Nvidia GTX 960
8GB of RAM (4GB of 8 was used in the 2014 build)
1TB HDD (used from 2014 build)
EVGA 600w PSU (used from 2014 build)

Any suggestions for the MOBO or other components?
__________________

mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 10:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,810
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

You should actually take a look at the 1060 for much better performance or perhaps find a used 970 for a good price,and any reason for going AMD, Seems you actually get more bang for the buck with Intel now, As you may have noticed 2 yrs isn't very long for a build to already need replacing.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 11:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
You should actually take a look at the 1060 for much better performance or perhaps find a used 970 for a good price,and any reason for going AMD, Seems you actually get more bang for the buck with Intel now, As you may have noticed 2 yrs isn't very long for a build to already need replacing.
What would be a good intel cpu around the same price point of the FX 8320?
mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2016, 11:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,438
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

i3 6310 or i5 6400 with an H110 board. The RX480 new or a used 970/980 would be a better idea than a new 960.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

Shouldnt the FX 8320 be better in the long run because of its 8 cores whereas the i3 has only 2 cores?
mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 12:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,561
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by mehguy View Post
Shouldnt the FX 8320 be better in the long run because of its 8 cores whereas the i3 has only 2 cores?
This topic by PP explains it pretty well:
Your CPU and modern games: A guide to those building.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 01:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

Arent there games out there that will not run on a dual core and will need a quad core to run?
mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 01:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,561
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by mehguy View Post
Arent there games out there that will not run on a dual core and will need a quad core to run?
There's only a few that actually require a quadcore (Far Cry 4 being one of them) - in that case, spring for the i5 over the i3.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 03:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,438
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

The games that "require" a quad only look for 4 logical processors which means 4 threads. An i3 has HT which gives it 4 threads. I put up video showing a Sandy Bridge (2nd gen) i3 (I disable 4 cores to showcase an "i3") paired with a 970 gaming just fine on the supposed required 4 core titles. A Skylake i3 is as fast and mostly faster than an overclocked 8350 at all games and even a lot of multithreaded tasks so there's no reason to go with an AMD processor until maybe Zen.

My article is a bit outdated and I need to sometime soon update it for DX12, but a lot of people have been asking. The deal with that is it's not guaranteed to utilize more cores, it only has the better capability of properly utilizing them. The proper advantage of DX12 and Vulkan (or other low level APIs like Mantle that's now defunct) is the reduction of CPU bottleneck due to requiring less CPU overhead. Basically, developers can now properly program to directly translate to "bare metal" or straight to GPU requiring less data flow and bottleneck by the CPU. These APIs have the ability to utilize more cores for an enhancement in AI, CPU physics, and other technologies BUT the issue with that is the average person has 4 or less threads. With Intel sticking to a 4 core design as their mainstream we will not see thread utilization increase until they change this. With the FX line being 4 years old now we are seeing a huge influx in transition to Intel as people "see the light" so to speak and with that popularity being on the rise we won't see any increase in thread usage until the industry moves on from this "standard". Not to mention, the mass majority of people are either not DX12 capable or have the bare feature requirement meaning most games coming out in the next 2-3 years will still be heavily DX12_0 feature capable and will only utilize that low CPU overhead byproduct of DX12. Maybe with Canonlake we might see an increase to 6 core mainstream for the i7, but don't hold your breath. So you're good with 4 threads now, and can upgrade yourself later an i5 or i7 if need be but probably won't be necessary unless you go with a much stronger GPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 06:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 43
Default Re: Giving my PC a major upgrade

I think I should still go with a 960. In Canada, prices are quite different and our dollar isn't in the best condition at the moment... a used gtx 970 is around 300CAD, which is more then I'm willing to pay and the RX 480 is 275 CAD new but that 75 dollars could easily be used for a MOBO. Anyways, I won't be building for awhile, I'll see where the prices are at then and maybe I'll go with a gtx 970 used if its cheaper.
__________________

mehguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
major major bios flash problem TuNiX Laptops and Notebooks 1 01-17-2010 09:29 AM
major upgrade? rabblerouser New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-17-2006 01:06 AM
Hoping to do a major upgrade... xStevey_Bx Overclocking and Modding 5 06-30-2005 09:23 PM
MAJOR HUGE MAJOR Problem with my internet connection and what-not Fuct Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 12-30-2004 01:59 PM
Major Upgrade question... Jeffrey99 Overclocking and Modding 5 11-25-2004 05:47 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.