Gigbabyte P-DS3 Owners - Memory Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2006, 09:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Spartan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default Gigbabyte P-DS3 Owners - Memory Question

Quick question. For my Conroe build, I ordered the P-DS3 motherboard from Gigabyte, but I have heard of some major memory compatibility issues. From the people who currently own this board, what memory are you running [include bios version]. I ordered on October 2, so I'm probably looking at Bios revision 5.

Thanks again and PLEASE don't answer if you dont actually own this motherboard.

Spartan is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
fade2black2004's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,629
Send a message via AIM to fade2black2004

my friend just got htis board and he is using patriot ddr2 800 mhz and everything is going fine for him, so far as i know

fade2black2004 is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Spartan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814

Thanks, fade2black. Anyone else??
Spartan is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Spartan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814

BUMP - hate to do it, but I sorely need more options.
Spartan is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536

im getting the DS3 so if its a crappy board then we can both go through the same aggravation
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU

-2.4Ghz Penryn
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 12:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
UA_Iron's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857

One thing they didn't mention in this review is a serious problem that is affecting the entire Gigabyte P965 chipset series (S3, DS3, DS4, DQ6). These board have some serious problems with a lot of RAM on the market. Many DIMM's, especially PC6400 or faster, are not given enough power when the BIOS is at default settings (IE when you first put the thing together) and consiquently the PC will not boot.

So far this problem affects the entire Patriot DDR2 range, the entire G.Skill DDR2 with the exception of the LA series PC5400, OCZ Gold EL-PC5400 (not the GX stuff though) and even Corsair PC6400 C3, C4 and PC5400 C3, to name but a few. If you're looking at buying this, or any other Gigabyte P965 chipset board, do some checking around before purchasing your RAM or you could find yourself having one **** of a frustrating time with it. I made this mistake and found my OCZ Gold RAM was incompatible, the G.Skill NS RAM i replaced it with was incompatible (and the NS range of G.Skill is made specifically for Intel systems!) and i'm now having to wait for another RAM replacement, this time i'm going with Geil Ultra Low Latency PC6400 as it is currently the only RAM i have seen which has had no problems with Gigabyte P965 boards from day one.
google search "DS3 memory compatibility" perhaps?
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Mjmitch2's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152

I'm using a DS3 with GEil DDR2 800 and have no problems.
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 12:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
idiotec's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748

I am running OCZ PC-6400 Plat's - Rev 1's and they have worked fine, but I have heard of other people having problems with them and the DS3, so I couldn't say I recommend them.

I originally got the OCZ Golds, and they would not work with any BIOS version. So no go there.

People have had good success with the OCZ Rev 2's on the DS3.

Also, I haven't heard of people having any problems with GSkill + DS3.

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 10-17-2006, 09:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Spartan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default So TF DOES have helpful people?!?!

Thanks guys. Looking at Geil or OCZ ram. Help appreciated.

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.