Gigabyte X38-DQ6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Gigabyte X38-DQ6





Source


That is one heck of a motherboard. I see 8 USB rear panel ports! Look at all them capacitors. And check out that 12 phase power design.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

Holy cow! This is going to be the next P35-DS3R, I suppose?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 195
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

This board supports PCIe 2.0. Looks like this will be the board I get for my next build. When are these boards coming out?
lafguy81 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

No, this is not another P35-DS3R. This will be expensive as you know what. It's one of those, "I got the most expensive motherboard" type.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

Darn, it supports DDR3. Let's hope once DDR3 gets into the mainstream, it'll lower down on the price. Too costly at the moment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
No, this is not another P35-DS3R. This will be expensive as you know what. It's one of those, "I got the most expensive motherboard" type.
Here comes a match up for the Striker Extreme! :laughing:
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 01:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

They are planning on making it, in DDR2 flavors as well.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

so the X38 chipset is a good overclocker?
or hasnt it been tested
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 03:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

Who uses 8 USB ports at the same time? But still, that a crazy motherboard.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 03:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Who uses 8 USB ports at the same time? But still, that a crazy motherboard.
I do, sometimes but I only have 4 USB ports.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 03:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Gigabyte X38-DQ6

Anyone else notice that the PCIE-12V connector is right next to the ATX connector? Excellent connection locations.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus, Gigabyte or other options? suptt New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-02-2007 12:10 PM
Which Gigabyte DS3 mobo? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-23-2007 09:43 AM
Gigabyte m55SLI-S4 and Athlon X2 (displays garbage) clever_j New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-26-2007 09:46 AM
Gigabyte 3D Aurora question... zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-24-2007 12:33 AM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.