Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2007, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

I can't get access to my ISP through the ethernet port. It just doesn't seem to be seeing my modem at all. I am using the USB option on my DSL modem to get internet access.

Is there any good way to test and see if that part of the motherboard is bad. Everything else seems to be working fine so far. I know this is a real general question. I'm not sure what other details may be important. Let me know if anything else would be helpful.

I've tried switching all the cords out (phone and ethernet). It seems to work fine on my other computer as well. I tried using my ISPs install disk to and it can't find the modem when hooked up. I went into the BIOS as well and tried to get it to find a LAN connecter but it just sticks trying to search for it.
__________________

SheeppOSU is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 02:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

did you install the ethernet drivers from the cd? if not, and you dont have the cd, see if you can borrow someones computer and go to gigabytes website and dl them. i just got mine too and im having a problem, but mine is with onboard audio! gah, hope you get it fixed,
tainted
__________________

taintedplay is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

I have reinstalled the drivers for it 3 times that doesn't seem to be the problem. I wish my problem was just the audio I'm not using the onboard audio anyways. I am so excited to have it up and running I hate to take it back apart and RMA the motherboard. Well thank you anyways.
SheeppOSU is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

um.. is it green at the back of the port.. if it's not.. .RMA it.... if it is.. then check ur internet connection
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

Reboot your modem. I had the same problem, i couldnt connect until i rebooted it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

i guess try doing a whole windows reformat. My friend had that problem, not on this board, but on his he had to reinstall windows adn then it worked.
taintedplay is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 08:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by SheeppOSU View Post
I have reinstalled the drivers for it 3 times that doesn't seem to be the problem. I wish my problem was just the audio I'm not using the onboard audio anyways. I am so excited to have it up and running I hate to take it back apart and RMA the motherboard. Well thank you anyways.
I really doubt the motherboard is defective, I didn't even have to install anything. All I did was put the ethernet cord into the plug, reset my cable mode and router and it worked fine.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 09:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

ISP came out today and he plugged his laptop up and it worked. He was here 1 minute said it wasn't there problem and left =) I have my old comp in a hundred pieces cleaning it so I will try that after its back together.

I can plug it in through the USB and it works fine though so I will just keep it like this. I guess it doesn't matter if its hooked up through USB or ethernet port performance wise?

I have a ton of the old PCI ethernet cards i guess I could try that and see. I just have had internet withdrawls the last few days so I haven't wanted to take the computer back down yet. Anyways thanks for the advice everyone. If anyone knows of a better way to test it let me know.
SheeppOSU is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 10:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-DS3R problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by SheeppOSU View Post
ISP came out today and he plugged his laptop up and it worked. He was here 1 minute said it wasn't there problem and left =) I have my old comp in a hundred pieces cleaning it so I will try that after its back together.

I can plug it in through the USB and it works fine though so I will just keep it like this. I guess it doesn't matter if its hooked up through USB or ethernet port performance wise?

I have a ton of the old PCI ethernet cards i guess I could try that and see. I just have had internet withdrawls the last few days so I haven't wanted to take the computer back down yet. Anyways thanks for the advice everyone. If anyone knows of a better way to test it let me know.
Ethernets better then USB and USB can sometimes be dropped ( from what I hear from charter )
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte P35- DS3R owners please read Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 32 09-24-2007 08:28 AM
Gigabyte P35- DS3R overclocking guides Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-04-2007 08:44 AM
Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-19-2007 01:43 PM
What makes the GIGABYTE P-35 DS3R so Great? MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 22 08-13-2007 07:37 PM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.