Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2007, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Thumbs up Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

Supposedly the compatible list.
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/...a-p35-ds3r.pdf

Whoever has a system with this mobo, can you name the brand/model of RAM you have? This is the only thing holding me back so far (and July 22nd) from building.

And would you recommend a DDR2-800 or DDR2-1066?
__________________

__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

why do we have compatibility lists for memory? why cant ram just work? is it gigabytes fault or is it intel making a cruddy chipset? I have never had to check to see if my ram is compatible or not. do the nvidia chipset boards have this problem?
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

Someone was suggesting I get gskill hz's... I can't find them on newegg. Does anyone have the link to the 2gb gskill hz's?
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyCurious View Post
Someone was suggesting I get gskill hz's... I can't find them on newegg. Does anyone have the link to the 2gb gskill hz's?
i'll do that... for some reason u just cant type g-skill hz's...

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
I didn't know those were the hz's.. what the heck does hz stand for? I don't see HZ anywhere in the specs or name title....
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyCurious View Post
I didn't know those were the hz's.. what the heck does hz stand for? I don't see HZ anywhere in the specs or name title....
ya just know the colors and assoicate them urself

white/silver- hk
red- nq
black- hz

those are the only ones i know
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

how much performance difference will i be able to see if I get HZ instead of HK?
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

The HZ,NQ, and HK come at the end of the model numbers. I just got this board because my Ds3 crapped out. I have the NQ model and from what I have heard it doesnt work with this motherboard. HOwever, I have heard that the HK and the HZ do work with it. So if someone could clarify this for me i would appreciate it.
suptt is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnlyCurious View Post
how much performance difference will i be able to see if I get HZ instead of HK?
the HZ is the same thing as HK except its black and a bit tighter timings with a lower voltage or someting like that
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-04-2007, 06:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Gigabyte P35-ds3r Mobo Owners...

Thats correct vern.
__________________

suptt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus, Gigabyte or other options? suptt New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-02-2007 12:10 PM
Which Gigabyte DS3 mobo? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-23-2007 09:43 AM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.