Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2007, 12:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

I was wondering if anyone with a Gigabyte P-35 DS3R has already mounted their mobo? ( Im trying to mount it on a thermaltake armor full tower case ) I mean the instructions don't even mention mobo mounting and the hardware install guidebook just says to mount it. But like...I have so many questions I mean...What screws do we use? Do we have to use washers? etc etc
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

Use the case's standoff screws, to mount the motherboard.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

Set it on the holes and just look closely. Just hope the screws will mount correctly.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

There should be case standoffs, or pegs on the backplate of the case.
You would attach the motherboard to the case with the included mounting screws.
Don't use washers that are non-metallic, as we need to ground the motherboard to the case.
There are six holes, two columns and three rows.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
There should be case standoffs, or pegs on the backplate of the case.
You would attach the motherboard to the case with the included mounting screws.
Don't use washers that are non-metallic, as we need to ground the motherboard to the case.
There are six holes, two columns and three rows.
ah well i found the golden case standoffs/pegs but how do I know which screws to use? ( none came with mobo ) Also do i even need washers for the holes? they look like this:

Legit Reviews - The Gigabyte P35-DS3R Motherboard Review - Board Layout
( 3rd to last picture down )
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

You don't need washers. Well actually I think the case screws, have metal washers with them.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

No, the motherboard itself is insulated at the screw points. My ds3r mounted just fine.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

Im just wondering are those inch long screws for psu mounting?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

All mounting screws at very stubby. Similar to those for the HDDs.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
All mounting screws at very stubby. Similar to those for the HDDs.
I didn't understand that well, what do u mean by very stubby? Theres so many screws of so many different designs and no documentation on what they are specifically for so Im assuming u can use any.

Originally I guessed the 1 inch long screws were for mounting the PSU and all 3 went in just fine except 1 that refused to go in and only screwed in half way. Now I just discovered really really short black mounting screws that came with the corsair PSU, so Im guessing I was supposed to use these instead...jeez does it even matter?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What makes the GIGABYTE P-35 DS3R so Great? MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 22 08-13-2007 07:37 PM
Which Gigabyte DS3 mobo? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-23-2007 09:43 AM
Gigabyte m55SLI-S4 and Athlon X2 (displays garbage) clever_j New Systems | Building and Buying 14 05-26-2007 09:46 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.