Gigabyte P-35-DS3R, case fans, OC and BIOS question!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeradin

Solid State Member
Hello all,

After all the great info and help on this forum, I bought my new rig, and built it all yesterday, got all programs on and data back in place.

Here are my specs... (I didnt buy all the pieces at newegg, just using them for linking purposes.)
MB - GA-P35-DS3R
CPU - Q6600
COOLING - Arctic Cooling Freezer 7
PSU - ROSEWILL 550W
CASE - COOLERMASTER CAC-T05
VIDEO - VGA SAPPHIRE X1950XT
HD - 250G SEAGATE 7K 16M SATA2
MEM - 1G x 2| G.SKILL F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ
DVD - BURN LITE-ON | LH-20A1L-05 LS

Now I have a few more questions I am hoping people could help me with.

1 - I got a CoolerMaster C. 5 case, which I love, and under 50 bucks! With the case fans, they have the little prongs that go into the motherboard, or the connectors to go straight to the power supply. Which is better? As it is now I am connected to the motherboard, since the bios controls the fan speeds... bad idea?

2 - I have my bios set to the default settings, are there certain things I should be changing for better performance?

3 - What is good to overclock the mem, CPU and such too? Never overclocked a computer before, and will read the full guide before hand, but wanted to check in before... I have the B3 stepping of course.

4 - Also, I still can return things or exchange, anything from my list that I made a mistake with and should swap out?

5 - anyone want a cookie?

Thanks for your time!

Dale

EDIT: My apologies, I should of posted this in "Overclocking, Case Mod, Tweaking PC Performance" Thread.... if mod sees this and is bored, can you move it? ha!

I have the same motherboard as you and I have a couple case fans. My fans have a power connector which I connect to my PSU as well as a small connector, which I just plug into the motherboard anyway.