GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2007, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

This board allows for use of DDR2 and DDR3 RAM. Can you use both at the same time? If I buy this board now along with DDR2 RAM, will I have the option of adding DDR3 RAM or will I have to remove the DDR2 RAM to do this?
__________________

MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

I think you have to use the same type of ram.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

Thanks. That makes it not practical to buy that monitor with the idea that you are going to upgrade your CPU or your RAM. What do you do? Toss the RAM and CPU you buy today in 6 months? Is this practical?
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

No unless you spend less than 150 dollars total on cpu+ram, anyway ddr3 is not even close to worth buying right now and when the new intel's come out, they will be rediculously priced, get your stuff now. And no question is dumb unless you ask a question to geek squad to learn.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

Did you purchase the P35C-DS3R? Well, for you question, don't. It's a waste of money due to DDR3 not being the mainstream and that it still has glitches.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

I did not purchase it. I was thinking it might be worth an extra $30 to have the flexibility, but I think I will get the $129 version that everyone here recommends. As I keep researching everything, I finally end up deciding that the recomendations on this board are right on the money. Now, if I can talk myself out the the Raptor RAID.
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 10:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDaddyGator View Post
I did not purchase it. I was thinking it might be worth an extra $30 to have the flexibility, but I think I will get the $129 version that everyone here recommends. As I keep researching everything, I finally end up deciding that the recomendations on this board are right on the money. Now, if I can talk myself out the the Raptor RAID.
Well you know its not good (i assume) since you're trying to talk yourself out of it, raptors themselves are not worth it, that's a fact, raid is not worth it imo, combining the two will make your files load faster, give you a faster boot, but wont increase performance. Spend the money elsewhere on ure gpu, cpu, you'll be glad you did.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 11:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
magezzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 95
Default Re: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

I build a system with GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R today...incredible amount of force needed to lock in the cpu, heatsink, and ram...my thumbs still hurt 6 hours later. However, performance wise...very nice...for now.
__________________
E6750
LG DVD-R
Seagate 320GB
Corsair HX 620W
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
OCZ 2x1GB Revision 2 PC6400 800Mhz
magezzz is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R - Dumb Question

Well, faster boot times and quicker load times sound like a performance increase to me. But for the average gaming computer Raptors and RAID 0 just aren't practical...

but RAID one is great for keeping a easy backup of EVERYTHING.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte P-35 DS3R mounting problems Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-19-2007 01:43 PM
What makes the GIGABYTE P-35 DS3R so Great? MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 22 08-13-2007 07:37 PM
Gigabyte 3D Aurora question... zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-24-2007 12:33 AM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.