Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2013, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Default Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

I just installed a Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 in my computer (back story here: Would you be upset at this?).

When running test software like CPU-Z, Performance test 8.0, IBT etc.. I started getting BSOD reboots. I did a clean install of Win 7x64, installed ALL updates and it still happened, just when opening CPU-Z. The beginning of Performance test where it gathers sys info is when it crashed. I loaded fail safe defaults in BIOS before reinstalling W7.

I am going to try loading the chipset drivers from Gigabyte. Any ideas?
__________________

brad1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

Check temps and make sure bios settings are set properly. Run a stability test while checking those temps.

Coretemp for temp monitoring
Prime95 for stress testing.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Check temps and make sure bios settings are set properly. Run a stability test while checking those temps.

Coretemp for temp monitoring
Prime95 for stress testing.
I have an upgraded cooler and it never gets above ~45C. It doesn't seam to be temp related. When it crashed loading CPU-Z, temp was in low 30's
brad1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

And that's why I said go to the bios and make sure the settings are set properly (usually all auto). An unstable or overheating CPU can cause this. It wouldn't hurt to make sure the board is updated to the latest F4 bios as well.

Prime95 also stresses RAM which could be an intermittent issue too. That's why I suggested stress testing it. CPU-Z usually only crashes itself to the desktop when the CPU is unstable as I've seen this many times with the latest version. Completely crashing the whole machine (BSOD) is usually a bios problem.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
And that's why I said go to the bios and make sure the settings are set properly (usually all auto). An unstable or overheating CPU can cause this. It wouldn't hurt to make sure the board is updated to the latest F4 bios as well.

Prime95 also stresses RAM which could be an intermittent issue too. That's why I suggested stress testing it. CPU-Z usually only crashes itself to the desktop when the CPU is unstable as I've seen this many times with the latest version. Completely crashing the whole machine (BSOD) is usually a bios problem.
Sorry, I did check BIOS. I had set it to fail safe defaults before installing Win7. I will check the BIOS version, although after installing the USB3 drivers (just did that) I can't even get to the desktop. I can get to logon, but after I enter password, it crashes...

After 3 retries, it made it to the desktop. Funny thing also is I got ti to pass 10 passes on IBT. Memory could be it, I will test it and try some other memory.
brad1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

Man is this getting frustrating, I have never used PRime95, but it isn't doing anything. Just sits there saying "no work to do at the present time" Grrr. I am going to try Linux mem test.
brad1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 12:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

You need to click on just stress testing when you first launch it. Then it will start testing automatically.

Sounds like you may have a board problem, but if everything else checks out idk. Are you using the standalone version of CPU-Z or the installed?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 12:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

I have tried, different memory, different power supply, different video card and unplugged the 2 IDE cd/dvd rom drives. none of that worked. I then tried a different CPU, my P II 955 BE. It is working, but sometimes I need to reboot a couple times to get it to crash. Also the FX-6100 worked fine on the previous ASUS motherboard. I'll restart and see if I can get it to crash.
brad1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

Seems to be working fine, can't get it to crash. Now how do I figure out if the problem is in the CPU or the motherboard?

One thing I noticed with the FX-6100, with both motherboards, when starting Performance test 8.0, as it is gathering system info and the motherboard is spinning in the display, it stutters badly as it is gathering CPU info, the motherboard stops spinning, the FPS goes to about 0 (from 2000-3000) for up to 5 seconds, then it continues as normal. I don't know if that means anything or not.
brad1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Default Re: Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 & FX-6100 BSOD

To rephrase previous post, it is working fine with P II 955 CPU , still not working with FX-6100.
__________________

brad1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.