Ghetto gaming challenge - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 09:27 PM   #31 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

That's not TCCD. Thats TCC5. Which is not as good as TCCD. Besides, 2gb is the new standard.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 09:35 PM   #32 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks, looks great. Just one nOOb question before I make the order. Whats the diff beween 3200/4000/5400 ?

....and I'm assuming this PC3200 Rev2 will overclock like a dream ?

=SW=
__________________

SomethingWicked is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 09:37 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the PC3200 PC4000 etc are the speeds of the ram, the AMD stock speed for the mobo is PC3200. The only reason to buy PC3500 or above is so you can get your ram to run a 1:1 ratio with your CPU while OC'ing
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 09:42 PM   #34 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Default

...but isn't that what I want to do here ?

=SW=
SomethingWicked is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 09:43 PM   #35 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yes, but you can overclock the PC3200. If you get higher, that is just ensuring you that it will run at those speeds.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:07 PM   #36 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Default

Ok how can you tell it's not TCCD ?

I'm looking at 4 possible choices and I can't tell which ones going to be give me what I need and not be overkill.

1) http://www.pccanada.com/viewitem.asp?id=2272 (x2)

2) http://www.pccanada.com/viewitem.asp?id=3962

3) http://www.pccanada.com/viewitem.asp?id=4149

If I can use PC2

4) http://www.pccanada.com/viewitem.asp?id=2270 (Rev2)

=SW=

p.s thanks for all the help stumbling though this...after I'm done this build your all invited over for beer !
SomethingWicked is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:08 PM   #37 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

You can not use DDR2 thats all i know lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:17 PM   #38 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

FYI you really should look around more than one store...I simply recommended that place because they have a good price on the Opteron, PE Rev2s you want from here

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...y&promoid=1065

Quote:
That's not TCCD. Thats TCC5. Which is not as good as TCCD. Besides, 2gb is the new standard.
OCZ switched to TCC5 back in April I believe due to TCCD shortages and the simple fact that they wanted to clear out their TCC5 stock...the stuff they're shipping now should be TCCD which is why I RMA'd my TCC5s, although they were still decent doing 280

As for 2GB being a "standard", that's a big no...as of right now there are two games that really need 2GB to perform at absolute highest levels, one being BF2 which is understandable, and the other being FEAR which is simply optimized terribly...apart from that 1GB is still perfectly fine for just about everything and is the perfect sweet spot for price and performance...plus the simple fact that 1GB modules use poor ICs therefore 2GB kits aren't going to overclock very well
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:24 PM   #39 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
plus the simple fact that 1GB modules use poor ICs therefore 2GB kits aren't going to overclock very well
The crucial z503 2x1gb easily does over 300MHz, but they also cost over $300. Right now I have my 2x1gb g.skill ram doing 250 stable, and I havn't tried for higher yet.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 10:37 PM   #40 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I am aware of the PC4000 Ballistix being really good overclockers for 1GB modules, but I am also aware of the high number of those modules that have subsequently died even trying to run stock timings at DDR500 after a period of time

You still can't even begin to compare UCCC chips to the TCCDs and you really can't even touch the price difference...undisputably fact that 512MB will overclock better just like 256MB will overclock even better
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.