Gfx Card Upgrade Suggestions ?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2005, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Gfx Card Upgrade Suggestions ??

Hi

I am looking to upgrade my motherboard and graphics card. I've narrowed it down to 3 choices for the graphics card (I have about £110 GBP to spend on it) but ain't got a clue about the motherboard.

Don't laugh my current setup is :-

Cpu - AMD 2200xp
Memory - 768mb
motherboard : Asus A7S333 (close to 4 years old now)
gfx : Geforce2 Ti200 (no comment lol)

The 3 gfx card choices.

1. If you read some of the reviews this card has a helluva lot of potential.
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=75002

2. The seasoned pro, the 9800
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=63700

3. A 9800 pro beater, but an extra £20
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=81344

As for the motherboard I have no idea which one to get but I do know I only wanna spend about £35 cuz I'll probably upgrade to a 64bit setup in about a year.

Any suggestions would be great
Marcus

p.s. I have just found a mobo i think this one will be ok.
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=83727
__________________

mug2k is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i cant see your mobo, and i say go with a 6600GT

well i cant see any of the links sense their website is down for maintence

do not i repeat do not get the 9800 pro

that was 3 generaations ago

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=81344
here £87(how do you make the cool e lol)i had to copy and paste anyways im guessing you need agp. whoops sorry you alreayd have this

but i would say go with a socket 939 mobo for upgradabillity..?..so but if you have to you CAN go with socket A and i hope you upgrade your cpu to. and all i can say about your current setup is....
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 12:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

No don't get the 9800 Pro. Thats not even ATI's latest and greatest. Why so many people know about the 9800 Pro but don't know about the X800 series beats me. You are best off with a 6600 GT from Nvidia or an X800GT from ATI if you go in that price range. People here are Nvidia fans so they will tell you that the X800GT sucks, but if you look at the benchmarks, its really not a bad card.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Hi

If I buy a socket 939 mobo will I still be able to put my current CPU (Socket A) in it ?
mug2k is offline  
Old 08-25-2005, 01:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

nope have to buy a amd athlon 64 processor
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.