Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2007, 03:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

I recently got an HP Pavillion dv9000.... here are some specs:
-------
Microprocessor: AMD Turion™ 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-50
Microprocessor Cache: 2 X 256 KB Level 2 cache
Memory: 1024 MB DDR2 667 MHz (2 x 512 MB)
Memory Max: up to 2 GB
Video Graphics: NVIDIA® GeForce™ Go 7600
Video Memory: 256 MB (dedicated)
Hard Drive: 100 GB 5400 rpm
-------

My main problem is that it came with Vista, which seems to be slow and buggy. I was going to install XP but was unsure on whether I should install the 64 version or 32. I know it would be faster with the 64, but didn't know what kind of compatibility issues i might run into.

Thanks
__________________

C_olin is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

from the specs its way easy to till what the problem is.

One word: Memory

Vista uses about 700-800mb easily. I would suggest getting 2 GB of ram ( more than likely they place 2 512mb on purpose as with other pc makers ) and that will bring it to 2.5 gb which will allow a decent amount for running programs. Also disabling any power saving options will increase gaming performance by 50% or even more.
__________________

antialias1337 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

Newegg.com - Patriot 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Notebook Memory - Retail for dd2 around 100 bucks not bad for 2 gb
i wouldn't bother with the 64 cause u can only have up to 2gb anyway.
antialias1337 is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 04:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

Thanks for the help.. I'll probably get that ram...

but should i switch to XP? I'm not interested in DX 10 or anything that vista offers to gaming (yet). Does XP have better gaming performance?
C_olin is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

Quote:
Originally Posted by antialias1337 View Post
Newegg.com - Patriot 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Notebook Memory - Retail for dd2 around 100 bucks not bad for 2 gb
i wouldn't bother with the 64 cause u can only have up to 2gb anyway.
64 bit windows doesn't just allow you to use more then 3.5gigs of ram... there are many more incentives
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
64 bit windows doesn't just allow you to use more then 3.5gigs of ram... there are many more incentives
Could you elaborate? I'm going to be using my Windows partition exclusively for gaming. Would XP_64 be a better choice than XP_32 in this context?
C_olin is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_olin View Post
Could you elaborate? I'm going to be using my Windows partition exclusively for gaming. Would XP_64 be a better choice than XP_32 in this context?
If you keep the old ram in there 32-bit would not be able to recognize it however that is a laptop and that means you only have 2 slots right? I would recommend XP because the performance hit in Vista on some cards and some resolutions is absolutely unacceptable.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 09:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
If you keep the old ram in there 32-bit would not be able to recognize it however that is a laptop and that means you only have 2 slots right? I would recommend XP because the performance hit in Vista on some cards and some resolutions is absolutely unacceptable.
xp_32 wouldn't be able to recognize my current ram? I don't understand why not.

Thanks for reply... I'm sure I'll be switching to XP... I just don't know if I want the 64 bit or 32 bit version?
C_olin is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 11:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

Quote:
Originally Posted by C_olin View Post
xp_32 wouldn't be able to recognize my current ram? I don't understand why not.

Thanks for reply... I'm sure I'll be switching to XP... I just don't know if I want the 64 bit or 32 bit version?
Well they say 32-bit has a problem recognizing 3GB which is all you would have, but some people have told me 2.5GB as well. Plus mixing older slow ram with high quality fast ram will only make your high quality ram as fast as your slowest one. This is why I suggest taking out the old 1GB and just keeping in the high quality 2GB.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 11:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default Re: Getting my HP dv9000 gaming better...

Ok.... so with the RAM issue set aside. What are the pros and cons for using XP 64 on a gaming computer... Obviously it would be more optimal for my processor... But would I run into compatibility issues?
__________________

C_olin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Gaming Headset MacDaddyGator PC Gaming 10 09-13-2007 08:42 AM
which of these gaming pads is the best that i should get? Wildside PC Gaming 1 07-25-2007 11:21 AM
Gaming mouse razer vs. logitech ThirdLeft152 New Systems | Building and Buying 43 07-10-2007 11:11 PM
Gaming configuration MonkeyBusiness New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-29-2007 11:11 AM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.