Getting games to display native resolution - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Getting games to display native resolution

I'm hoping this is the forum for this...I'm having a problem getting games to display in my LCD's 1280x1024 native resolution. The only one that does is Oblivion, while others like LotR: Battle for Middle Earth will only display up to 1152x864.

I just bought a new geforce 7800GS and I still have the same problem. I updated the graphics drivers and I checked but the monitor doesn't have drivers. Any help is appreciated since other places seem to be as clueless as I am. Thanks
__________________

Boss75 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 08:10 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

its the card. my gf has the eVGA 7800GS and plays LotR too and it only goes up to 1152x864
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

wait what? I have a 6600 and it goes easlily to 1600x1200.

I dont know what a native res. is but I dont see why that card wont play your games on the right resolution
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I had the 6800 though and it did the same thing. It bugs me not playing a game in native resolution. I thought there might be some obscure setting somewhere that I needed to mess with.
Boss75 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 10:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

okay, sorry to sound out of place. But what is a "native resoluition"?
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 10:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Native resolution meaning the resolution (usually the max) that your LCD display looks best at.
Boss75 is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 11:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Native resolution is what I consider to be the only major drawback to LCDs. CRTs look about the same at any resolution in game. Not so for LCDs. Maybe LoTR doesn't support anything higher than 1152x864? Older games maxed out at much lower resolutions than today's do.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 11:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Im pretty sure you can edit the .CFG file somewhere, as you can do this in F.E.A.R.


try google maybe?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 11:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I found a site on google that said they edited a text file in Battle for Middle Earth II but it doesn't say which one. Anyone have a clue?
Boss75 is offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 12:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ah I found it. In LotR you have to go to the readme and then it tells you how in there.
__________________

Boss75 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.