Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2007, 04:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 135
Default Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

Pentium 4 3.2ghz, 160gb hd, 512mb DDR2 ram.

Basically, the processor is better then the one in my PC by a fair amount, and the DDR2 ram is pretty cheap. I have a 600w PS from my old PC i'll toss in it, and i'll put it in my old PC case to give it more room.

I'll be using it for gaming (Not a hardcore gamer, im "Ok" at online FPS games) and mostly for Sound Engineering (Running Pro-Tools)

I planned on picking up the Samsung 226BW monitor, 1-2gigs of ram and an XFX GeForce 8600 GT XXX. I have external hard drives, for school so im not worried about running out of room.

SO is there anything I should know about the Dell ? All i've heard is that Dell are ok because they can be upgraded... The parts im getting will be inside the dell, but eventually the dell will be replaced with a much better PC.


Thanks very much, I really need the help with this, i've heard a lot of different things about Dell's not being upgradeable and, that this would be fine...
__________________

Eclipse7 is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 10:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

i dont know that their motherboards (if you plan on using it) will mount correctly into your case.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 11:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

Well 8600gt is crap, it basically a 7600gt with dx10 support. Also,, protools can get pretty cpu and ram intensive, the p4 might not ne all that good for it, i do sound engineering myself and those plugins can be hard on the cpu. A pentium d would be a nice upgrade but im not sure if the board will recognize it.

Is it the newer model gx280 or the older one, because i know the older ones use ddr, the newer ones ddr2. All pcs are upgradeable to a certain extent, some dells dont come with an agp or pci-e slot at all, so all you can change out would be the hard drive, dvd drive, and ram.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Well 8600gt is crap, it basically a 7600gt with dx10 support.
Actually, I've heard a lot of people say that the 8600 is on par with a 7800 GT or 7900 GS. I'm sure it will be fine for any non-hardcore gaming he wants to do.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 11:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitersety View Post
Actually, I've heard a lot of people say that the 8600 is on par with a 7800 GT or 7900 GS. I'm sure it will be fine for any non-hardcore gaming he wants to do.
According to this benchmark, the 8600gt is only 3 frames faster than the 7600gt
VGA Charts 2007 | Tom's Hardware

7600gt is faster in this one
VGA Charts 2007 | Tom's Hardware

Its basically the same in the other games too, avg 3+ frames faster and dx10 support for $50 more.

The 7900gs gets about 10 frames more and cost the same as the 8600gt, so its really up to him but a 7600gt or a 7900gs wouldd both be a better deal, i was gonna get one of them myself but said screwed it and opted for the 8800gt.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 12:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

Get the dell, mod it, but do not upgrade it.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Well 8600gt is crap, it basically a 7600gt with dx10 support. Also,, protools can get pretty cpu and ram intensive, the p4 might not ne all that good for it, i do sound engineering myself and those plugins can be hard on the cpu. A pentium d would be a nice upgrade but im not sure if the board will recognize it.

Is it the newer model gx280 or the older one, because i know the older ones use ddr, the newer ones ddr2. All pcs are upgradeable to a certain extent, some dells dont come with an agp or pci-e slot at all, so all you can change out would be the hard drive, dvd drive, and ram.

Yea, I know that pro tools can get pretty heavy when you start adding effects to the tracks. But this PC is a lot more powerful then the one I had, a 1.8ghz AMD, 40g hd, 1g of ram (DDR)

This new PC has DDR2 ram, so its a newer one and this one comes with a pci-e slot.

The only upgrades id be getting for this PC specifically would be the ram, the video card will go from this PC to my next, and all the other things im buying (External hard drive, LCD monitor) will still be around when I have money to upgrade to a really good system, and of course are in no way tied to "This" computer solely.

I guess im kinda using this PC as a stepping stone, its better then what I had, but its not as good as I need

Also, on the video card. This one is overclocked from the factory. I haven't chosen this card exclusively though... if you have any suggestions id love to hear them.

Thanks all very much for the help.
Eclipse7 is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 04:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

usually (not always) if there is a factory overclocked card the reference card, ie the slowest one sold, will usually overclock to the specs of the xxx. not true for all. my asus 8800gt would NOT clock to the specs of the evga ssc.
my new evga, on the other hand, does and then some.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 03:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

I see.

Thanks all for the help, currently I have a Radeon X800 XL, card is old !! But its a workhorse. personally id like to upgrade the video card, but im not entirely sure what else I can pick from.

If you guys have any suggestions for cards around the $100-150 price range, id love to hear them.
Eclipse7 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 04:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it.

I would be hesitant with using a new PSU with that dell mobo. I know dell used to(not sure if they still do) would change the 20/24 ping connector wires around so that you wouldn't be able to change the PSU.

So just make sure you check before you trade PSU's.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Fonts Snake91839 Internet Software and Browsers 5 05-30-2007 06:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.