GeIL memory... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 02:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default GeIL memory...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144330

i was browsing DFI's website and i noticed a side link that read "recommended memory for overclocking" I clicked it and found the specs for my board which happens to be ddr400, pc3200. underthat, it said 3 types of memory were reccommended for my board: GeIL, Crucial and Corsair.

Anyways, is GeIL good memory? The timings seem pretty weak too me. 2.5-8-3-3 if i recall.
__________________

KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

doesnt look very good to me...
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by blaackoran
doesnt look very good to me...
what do you recommend? links are a plus.
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 03:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

I use GeIL, never had any problems with it.
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 11:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

My new system has GEIL memory. How is it compared to Corsair, Mushkin etc.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 12:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I have that exact model of memory. 2 of them. I dont know how they compair to other ram, but I have never had a single problem with it in almost a year now.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 10:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

you have a DFI Lp mobo - that means you can push the RAM voltage rather high.

Something like Mushkin Redline would pair with your mobo really well. It should do DDR500 at 2-2-2-6 timings with the right voltage applied to it.

I have a 2x512 set if you're interested (sorry for this solicitation).
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.