GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2007, 09:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
8800 is DX10, only Vista has it.
no i can go up to dx10 but u can still use xp
__________________

Wiggs is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 10:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiggs View Post
no i can go up to dx10 but u can still use xp
umm, no? Maybe I'm just confused by your statement and you meant the 8800 still works on XP with DX9..

Also to everyone saying there will be a performance drop using a DX10 card in XP, that might not be the case currently. I know when I used vista, the drivers were HORRIBLE. My framerate took a huge dip because of poorly written drivers. Maybe it's changed right now, but I'm doubting everything is fixed driver wise right now.....but in the future then yes, there will be a performance drop.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 10:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

Yes there will be a performance drop, but nothing you would notice. The card was meant to take advantage of directx 10 and will be running off of directx9 on XP.

Quote:
no i can go up to dx10 but u can still use xp
Uhm.. No you cannot use directx10 on Xp, I think you wrote your sentence wrong = /
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 12:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

Well im still on the fence on this and have no idea which way I should go with it :/
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 01:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manhuntkotor View Post
Well im still on the fence on this and have no idea which way I should go with it :/
Go with XP until there is a DX10 game you want to buy, then get vista.
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 10:03 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

Well im going to want:
Alan Wake
Crysis
Flight Sim X
maybe Halo 2
and a few others when they come out...
should I just go ahead and get it then?
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 11:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

If you want to take advantage of DX10 in those games, you need Vista.

Are the bugs in Vista that bad?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 01:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

im not sure..
some people and sites say it is yet some say it isnt...
i dont want to get Vista with my new build and have all kinds of trouble and then be stuck with it then...
Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 01:46 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

If you don't want to worry, I'd say go with XP. Then just upgrade to Vista when everything is settled, and DX10 games are available. But I don't think the bugs can be that bad. I could be wrong.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 02:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default Re: GeForce 8800 GTX ok without Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
If you don't want to worry, I'd say go with XP. Then just upgrade to Vista when everything is settled, and DX10 games are available. But I don't think the bugs can be that bad. I could be wrong.
They're just annoying things that shouldn't happen in an OS. Small little bugs that could easily be fixed (or at least it seems so to me), driver issues, some of your programs may not work, and for me, I kept getting a bunch of BSODs, my guess is from poorly written drivers. Overall, the ONLY thing that would make me want to go back to vista is DX10, but IMO they should have just made a SP3 for XP and not a new OS.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista whoring nearly half my ram needlessly? Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 16 05-07-2007 04:50 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 08:58 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.