Geforce 8500 GT not really working. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2008, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

When I plug my monitor into my video card my monitor doesn't respond. It acts as if I unplugged my monitor. My computer doesn't recognize my card either. A friend of mine told me it was probably defective. Should I just return it?
__________________

The Stoned Ape is offline  
Old 08-31-2008, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

you try re-setting it, and if you have onboard video, try that (make sure to take the 8500 out when you do) you might have to disable onboard video in your bios as well.
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 05:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
alehkcis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 208
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

try checking your bios settings, maybe it is set to onboard , try setting it to auto.or set it to pci.
alehkcis is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 08:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

I just looked through every option in BIOS and I didn't see anything about turning off onboard video. However it is set to PCI already.
The Stoned Ape is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 11:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

pci or pci-express it should be set to pci-express cause the card is pci-express not regular pci. and do you have another computer to test it in.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 12:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

It is currently set to PCI-E (which I'm assuming is PCI-Express). And my onboard video card is currently disabled. Yet my card still isn't working. Both the CD drivers and the drivers I downloaded aren't detecting it. At this point I'm thinking I just have a defective video card. At least my onboard video is good enough for me to play games.

EDIT: Is it possible that my motherboard is simply not compatible with the card? The onboard video is ATI while the card is obviously not.
The Stoned Ape is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 01:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

no, that is not possible.
try another card if you have one, or as phil suggested, try the card in another computer.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 01:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

pci-e is pci express and if your motherboard has a pci express slot x16 then it is compatible. if you got it from newegg.com then there rma process is quite easy.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 02:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

The are compatible or at least on paper are compatible. Anyway, I have already done the form for my RMA and will be able to print it out tomorrow.
The Stoned Ape is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 10:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Geforce 8500 GT not really working.

if it has a slot that the card fits into with no cutting (lol @ that guy)...its compatible.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Updated* Laptop Graphics Cards Ranking List veg1992 Laptops and Notebooks 98 12-05-2015 10:24 PM
Geforce 177.92 Beta-Driver up to 15% faster in gaming maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 18 09-04-2008 10:25 PM
dual geforce 8800 ( are they working?) rxsevenpimp New Systems | Building and Buying 7 03-18-2008 10:42 PM
Laptop Video Cards Whirlwind Laptops and Notebooks 5 12-17-2007 12:46 PM
NVIDIA PureVideo HD questions macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-28-2007 10:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.