Geforce 7800 DOA??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2006, 03:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Geforce 7800 DOA???

Hello everyone,
I wonder if anyone can help me out with a little problem i 'am having with my new graphic card.
The problem is that I cannot play dvds on my dvdrom ever since i replaced my (ATI radeon 9550) with (PNY GEFORCE 7800 GS AGP)
I find that strange cause the graphic card can play some games perfectly but other are laggy.

The graphic card is working fine when playing Hitman blood money with all the setting at the highest But laggy when i play Battlefield 2 at it's highest setting. (not my connection problem cause it can run without lag at low setting)
Also with i run any media program my computer starts to get laggy and freeze up.

I email nvidia support but to no avail. They only told me to DL the lastest driver, which i already am running...

Now my question is my graphic glitchy?

Computer spec:
Intel Pentium 4, 3.2 ghz;
MB Soyo P4I865PE Plus DRAGON 2 ;
2gb consair xms rams;
HD Seagate 200gb;
Geforce 7800 GS apg

MsMonkeyball is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3

I swap the new graphic card with the old one and i can play dvds again.

I am baffle as to why i am able to play some games on the highest setting (hitman BM) and experience laggy gameplay on other games (battlefield2)
I can play bf2 at low setting without lag but whats the point? i spented 280 bucks so i can play at the lowest setting???

Any help or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

MsMonkeyball is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996

Sounds like a driver issue to me.

Try contacting to your provider for further help..

And regarding your subjcet, yes... there is a possiblity for 7800gt to be a card is guranteed to have 0 doa %..

Yoad is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 09:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

Try downloading this program called, Driver Cleaner. Wipe out all of you drivers and then reinstall, the nvidias drivers.
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 118

My friend bought a 7800GS agp a while ago, he can play BF2 with all high settings except AA is at 2x. he has AMD 3200 and 1gb ram. i guess the only difference is his is XFX? resolution is at 1024x768 i believe. so i guess thats about what you should be expecting out of that card
<a href=\"\"><img src=\"\">
Major Noob is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068

call customer support and talk to someone in person!! i had to, they didnt give legit responses to my emails, so i called em, and we determined it was a blows gpu/defective card, but i never overclocked, so they rmaed it
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585

what are you trying to play dvds with...that's the simpler answer

If you have dvd capable video cards and have media player with appropriate extensions, dvds should play fine

If you had ATI and a DVD player with that, it'll work...

If you bought an NVIDIA with no dvd software...

It's all about the software...and of course the slight vaguness of your post
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 11:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3

I believe it is a driver isse but i am going to refund the card and stick with ATI graphic cards from now on.

The nvidia support only said that they are going to try to fix the problem with the next driver update......

atomic tofu ---If you have dvd capable video cards and have media player with appropriate extensions, dvds should play fine

If Windows media player isn't a appropriate media player i don't know what is.

Anyway thanks for your help guys.

MsMonkeyball is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.