Gay Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default Gay Mobo

OK well see if this makes any sense to you, ok well I have a DFI lanparty Ultra-D NF4 and before this weekend (Thursday) my PC was working just perfect and I mean perfect ok well today Tuesday I tried to get back on it and well it won't get past the bios loading screen (where it says Lanparty NF4 with the dude on it) now I tried changing my ram on it from slot 2 to slot 1 and then back to two and then it is still back on 1, now what do u guys suggest reseting the cmos? If so please tell me how to since I have no clue how to reset the cmos as this would be my first time.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

you can look in your motherboard manual for the jumper settings to clear cmos...or you can just pull the cmos battery for about five minutes then put it back in. the cmos batter is the round one that looks kinda like a watch battery.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well do you think that is the problem, I don't wanna do it for no reason.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

I have had a cmos reset fix a problem with a lan party before. dont know if it is the problem but worth a try. on the board they have a series of lights (I think 4 green ones) that tells you what stage of startup you are at. what light does it stop at?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

This is news to me, I didn't know motherboards has a sexual preference... You could always reset the CMOS.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well on the bottom left hand corner I got 4 red lights and if you look at it llike reading a book left to right (america) it stops at the first light, I will try to take the battery out and see if tat fixes it.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

ok it stops when it is detecting your dram. so it is a problem with the ram. do you have other sticks to try. I know you changed slots so you dont need to do that again but might be worth a shot. check out page 59 here http://us.dfi.com.tw/Upload/Manual/l...0847505104.pdf
to see what the lights on the motherboard means. I would try to reset the cmos for fun. page 29 has the jumper settings to do this.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 03:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Why would it just not work though I mean I was sick over the past few days and that is why I havent gone on it but see now after it was working it doesn't start up on te next boot up.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

had any recent power surges or power outages? were you doing any overclocking? made any recent changes? Unfortunately sometimes computers just suck.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

no, no, no (exept reformat), yea true that but the ram I got was 1 gig of that twinmos which was recommended for great timings back in may '05, but I only got 512 mb in it now becuase I gave half to my dad I might take that stick and try it out I havent done the battery yet because my "loop" is in the way and it is a paing to get through it all.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.