Gaming System Revised - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 01:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Lightbulb Gaming System Revised

Made some changes to upcoming build. Need some input please.

Case: Aspire X-Plorer ATX Mid Tower
MoBo: DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D s939
CPU: AMD FX-55 San Diego
GPU: BFG Tech 7800GTX
RAM: pqi 1GB (512x2MB) DDR 400 (PC 3200) SDRAM
HDD: 2x Seagate Barracuda 120GB 7200rpm SATA150 NQC
PSU: Antec NeoPower 480W
Optical Drive: NEC ND-3540A IDE DVD Burner
Floppy Drive: NEC 1.44MB
OS: Windows XP Home w/SP2

Monitor: ViewSonic VP191B Black 19" 8ms (gray-to-gray); 20ms (black-white-black, typ) LCD
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300 2.1
Mouse: Logitech MX518
Keyboard: Saitek Eclipse
Mousepad: RATPADZ GS

Total cost from Newegg: $2,689

NOTE: This system will be for GAMING and I will NOT be overclocking.

As always, thanks for all replies.
__________________

j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 01:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Awesome.
I wish I could afford something like that.
Enjoy that man, you deserve it for that ammount of cash you have.
__________________

Execute is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

this is just me but i have never heard of the brand "pqi" that u have ur ram listed as.(maby because i am in the land down under)

and if you have the money i would suggest a 10,000 RPM hard drive for you main games and windows.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 03:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

PQI is pretty common, they use exactly the same PCB's and chips (samsung TCCD's) in their RAM as OCZ. the heatspreaders are slightly different (because of the writing)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 03:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

The pqi ram is just value ram and will perform no different than more expenisve ram right? It's got a lifetime warranty so if it dies no biggie.

As for the 10,000rpm disk.....I've heard mixed opinions on this. Some say to get a small 10Krpm for windows and games yet others say its not worth the money and that I'd get just as good if not better performance by putting two 7,200rpm disks in RAID-0. I figured I'd save some money and go for the RAID-0 setup.
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 03:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Alright now were talkin, great choice on the monitor. 2 things: A bigger power supply, like a 600w OCZ or this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103933
and Xp Pro I hear is better than Home. Although i have no issues with Home. Great build.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 05:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

It might be worth it 2 get 2 gigs of RAM, as high settings on BF2 and FEAR require 2 gigs
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 03:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

OK, thanks for the replies.

I changed the PSU to this:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16817103933

and I'll get this RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820146841

Could someone please click on the links (especially the RAM) and make sure it's what I should be getting?
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 03:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yes the link is fine and that build is great for gaming. You changed teh ram its going to be better for you for gaming BF2 and FEAR are Memory hungry man.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 03:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Sweet. I have two more questions though.

1. Should I get a pair of aluminum heat spreaders for the ram?

2. Will the DFI motherboard manual have detailed instructions on how to setup a RAID-0 array? I really have no idea how to do it.
__________________

j4ckaL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.