Gaming System Revised - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2005, 12:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Lightbulb Gaming System Revised

Made some changes to upcoming build. Need some input please.

Case: Aspire X-Plorer ATX Mid Tower
MoBo: DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D s939
CPU: AMD FX-55 San Diego
GPU: BFG Tech 7800GTX
RAM: pqi 1GB (512x2MB) DDR 400 (PC 3200) SDRAM
HDD: 2x Seagate Barracuda 120GB 7200rpm SATA150 NQC
PSU: Antec NeoPower 480W
Optical Drive: NEC ND-3540A IDE DVD Burner
Floppy Drive: NEC 1.44MB
OS: Windows XP Home w/SP2

Monitor: ViewSonic VP191B Black 19" 8ms (gray-to-gray); 20ms (black-white-black, typ) LCD
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300 2.1
Mouse: Logitech MX518
Keyboard: Saitek Eclipse
Mousepad: RATPADZ GS

Total cost from Newegg: $2,689

NOTE: This system will be for GAMING and I will NOT be overclocking.

As always, thanks for all replies.

j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 12:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 106

I wish I could afford something like that.
Enjoy that man, you deserve it for that ammount of cash you have.

Execute is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769

this is just me but i have never heard of the brand "pqi" that u have ur ram listed as.(maby because i am in the land down under)

and if you have the money i would suggest a 10,000 RPM hard drive for you main games and windows.
Sprooty is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

PQI is pretty common, they use exactly the same PCB's and chips (samsung TCCD's) in their RAM as OCZ. the heatspreaders are slightly different (because of the writing)
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718

The pqi ram is just value ram and will perform no different than more expenisve ram right? It's got a lifetime warranty so if it dies no biggie.

As for the 10,000rpm disk.....I've heard mixed opinions on this. Some say to get a small 10Krpm for windows and games yet others say its not worth the money and that I'd get just as good if not better performance by putting two 7,200rpm disks in RAID-0. I figured I'd save some money and go for the RAID-0 setup.
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946

Alright now were talkin, great choice on the monitor. 2 things: A bigger power supply, like a 600w OCZ or this:
and Xp Pro I hear is better than Home. Although i have no issues with Home. Great build.
P4 3.2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 04:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

It might be worth it 2 get 2 gigs of RAM, as high settings on BF2 and FEAR require 2 gigs

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718

OK, thanks for the replies.

I changed the PSU to this:

and I'll get this RAM:

Could someone please click on the links (especially the RAM) and make sure it's what I should be getting?
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*

yes the link is fine and that build is great for gaming. You changed teh ram its going to be better for you for gaming BF2 and FEAR are Memory hungry man.
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 02:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718

Sweet. I have two more questions though.

1. Should I get a pair of aluminum heat spreaders for the ram?

2. Will the DFI motherboard manual have detailed instructions on how to setup a RAID-0 array? I really have no idea how to do it.

j4ckaL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.