Gaming system - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2005, 05:23 PM   #81 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

the XFX is probably a "OCed version" sometimes graphics card makers lower the clock speeds and junk, and put them at a lower price. it really doesnt matter. but if you want to play on high i say go with the 430. or you can go with the 400 and OC to 430, cause i OCed with like 10% on my video card, and i got a 200point increase in 3dmark and i can play on hig settings with bf2
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:11 PM   #82 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rmaia
F.E.A.R is projected t release 10/18/2005 so its not far away at all.
I'm just saying hes doing this to save money right? Well it'd be less money just to buy a good X2 right now so he doesnt have to buy 2 processers. A good X2 ould perform better right now even so.
so the only game he can play before the "NEW" X2s come out. is going to be FEAR? and is FEAR taking the FULL advantage of dual core, we dont even know if its really supported, maybe 2-3 fps difference
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:50 PM   #83 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

Yeah, the 512Kb L2 Cache models do overclock better (don't ask me why) but tests have shown that the 512Kb verson of the 4200 overclocks much better than 1Mb version.

Hey that saves you around £20 *winks*
__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:19 PM   #84 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
so the only game he can play before the "NEW" X2s come out. is going to be FEAR? and is FEAR taking the FULL advantage of dual core, we dont even know if its really supported, maybe 2-3 fps difference
I never said it was taking full advantage of it, I was just saying that the multi core support is not very far off. No I don't know what other games are introducing it but I'm sure there are alot. It's retarded to wait for the new X2's before buying one and in the mean time buying a single core. The new x2's of next year will not be cheap I assure you so why buy two processers when you could just buy one now and have the perks of X2 now. However; he cannot afford a good X2 atm and wants it now so hes going to buy a single core. Unless he starts making more money he will be in the same situation again soon. Instead I was saying I would wait until I had enough money to buy a very nice X2 now so I can be futureproof and done with it, spending less money to boot. I don't quite understand what you are getting at.
Rmaia is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:20 PM   #85 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

why doesnt he just stick with the system he has right now, and wait till next year to buy the new X2 and go full out for the best gaming rig, if he saves up
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:22 PM   #86 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 119
Default

the system he has right now would be the one he actually has or the one he is building in this thread? If you mean the one he has now I would agree to an extent if he cant afford the best right now.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
2 gb OCZ dual channel platinum
512mb 7900GTX (eVGA)
250gb 16mb WD HD
3550a Dvd/cd rw/r (NEC)
Thermaltake Full Alum. Armor Case
Rmaia is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:23 PM   #87 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

Good idea PZ I mea next year, the new dual cores certainly aren't going to be cheap (as Rmaia said), and so I'd start saving now with the money you do have, and then consider buying parts next year when even more technology and options are available to you.
__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:33 PM   #88 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
the system he has right now would be the one he actually has or the one he is building in this thread? If you mean the one he has now I would agree to an extent if he cant afford the best right now.
i dont know what he has but im guessing its good

but for now, the system he has i think is sufficient enough, so when he wants to go all out for it, he can come in here and say i got blah blah blah with 4 eVGA 7800GTXs and 8GBs of ram. with 4.0Ghz amd X3s with triple core processor and blah blah
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 08:29 AM   #89 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

The PC right now is terrible. 600Mhz PIII, PC 100 RAM, 32mb Gfx card.

I have to hit the monitor to make it work.
RedUK is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 10:28 AM   #90 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 119
Default

thats what I figured.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
2 gb OCZ dual channel platinum
512mb 7900GTX (eVGA)
250gb 16mb WD HD
3550a Dvd/cd rw/r (NEC)
Thermaltake Full Alum. Armor Case
Rmaia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.