Gaming system - Page 16 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2005, 11:39 AM   #151 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Well If I get 2 x 512mb of RAM then when games need 2 GIG I can add another 2 x 512mb sticks. Because it costs more to get a complete new CPU than another 2 sticks of RAM. Does that make sense?

Also will BF 2 work well on 1 GIG?
__________________

RedUK is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:45 AM   #152 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

That's what I was suggesting, I mean the processor is a lot more pricey to upgrade, and pbviously harder to install than some new RAM.

BF2 will run well, just possibly not at the top of the ladder in performance. Now everyone thinks that this is a bad thing, but you've got to remember, only buy what you can afford. I made the mistake of originally setting out a £1200 budget, and ended up spending £1500+ for my new system.

Adding RAM later will greatly improve your performance, and will cost less and give you less hassle than upgrading the CPU
__________________

__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:45 AM   #153 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yes. anyways its all down to your opinon, its your money and your computer
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:56 AM   #154 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

I'm not really going to be changing settings on games..just putting the disk in. i'm happy if it runs. Will this system be ok for that?
RedUK is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:58 AM   #155 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

Yup, it should be. I'd be amazed if it wasn't
__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:04 PM   #156 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

lol 7800GTX not good for it LOL! unles you cut it like some other guy to fit it in a AGP slot
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:11 PM   #157 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Can the Mobo is decieved's sig take 4 Dimms?
RedUK is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:15 PM   #158 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

Yeah, it can. Practically all modern motherboards today have 4 DIMM slots, and o you'd be able to upgrade to 4x512Mb in the future
__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 12:29 PM   #159 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i have 4 slots, YAY!

EDIT: are you going to copy his exact same system?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 01:23 PM   #160 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Have either of you ever heard of the graphics card make "Inno 3D"?

Because I was looking at an Inno 3D Geforce 7800GTX card and was wondering if the make was any good.
__________________

RedUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.