Gaming system - Page 14 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2005, 09:46 AM   #131 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

All the items are around the price that they retail in the UK.

I don't really struggle to get a decent system, look:

BUILD 1:

1YR ON-SITE PC WARRANTY (S2U)
System Labour Charge
AMD Athlon64 4000 San Diego Retail
Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLi nForce4
Coolermaster Centurion 5 Blk / Silv
Corsair Value Select 2x512MB PC3200
80GB Seagate Barrucuda 7 [7200/100]
16X Sony DVD-ROM Black
Leadtek WinFast 7800GTX TDH MyVIVO
Dell 19" M993 Midnight Grey
3½" Silver Floppy Drive
Microsoft Windows XP Home OEM
Enermax Noisetaker 600W ATX V2.0


£ 1,262.00 inc. VAT

--------


BUILD 2:

AMD Athlon64 X2 4200 512K Retail
Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLi nForce4
Coolermaster Centurion 5 Blk / Silv
Corsair Value Select 2x512MB PC3200
80GB Seagate Barrucuda 7 [7200/100]
LG DVDRom 16x Black GDR8163BL
Asus GeForce 7800GTX 256B PCI-E
17" Hyundai ImageQuest Q770 Blk/Sil
3½" Silver Floppy Drive
Microsoft Windows XP Home OEM
Enermax Noisetaker 535W ATX V2.0

£ 1,272.40 Inc. VAT
__________________

RedUK is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 09:58 AM   #132 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

Oh right, sorry I didn;t realise you wanted a smaller hard drive, and that you were going for value RAM. Well either system looks good You seem pretty much stuck on the 4000, so go for that one
__________________

__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 10:03 AM   #133 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you might want to look into getting 2GBs of ram...
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 10:06 AM   #134 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 135
Default

That's what I was going to suggest, but for a build that totals £1270 qith a 4000 CPU and a 7800GTX, I think he'd find it hard to do that
__________________
<center>Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 512KB l Gigabyte GA-K8N-XP Sli Motherboard l XFX GeForce 7800 GTX 256Mb (450/1250) l OCZ 2Gb (2 x 1Gb) Dual Channel Platinum Series DDR400 l Maxtor Diamondmax 250Gb SATA 7200rpm 16Mb Cache l Enermax 600W Noisetaker l NEC ND-3540A Black Dual Layer DVD+/-RW l Sony 3.5\" FDD l Black Coolermaster Aerogate 2 Fan Controller l Extreme Gaming Spider Case l Viewsonic VX924 19\" TFT 4ms Response Time l Logitek MX518 l Saitek Eclipse l Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2</center>
the deceived is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 10:08 AM   #135 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

Yeah it's very hard getting 2 gig of RAM also

I heard that it's a bad idea to fill all 4 RAM slots. Is this true?
RedUK is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 10:52 AM   #136 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

thats why you get 1GBx2. and sometimes it is bad to fill all 4 ram slots, it depend son the mobo. and usually the cpu, but the new cpus are fixed the problem

4x512 takes up more power and room then 1x2. and if youg et 1x2 you can upgrade easiler in a year or 2
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:09 AM   #137 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

I can get two gig if I do the following things. Switch from Corsair to Kingston. Switch my graphics card from Leadtek to Asus and change my CPU from the AMD 64 4000 to the AMD 64 3700. Is it worth it?

My system would then looklike this:

Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLi nForce4
Coolermaster Centurion 5 Blk / Silv
80GB Seagate Barrucuda 7 [7200/100]
LG DVDRom 16x Black GDR8163BL
Dell 19" M993 Midnight Grey
Microsoft Windows XP Home OEM
AMD Athlon64 3700 San Diego Retail
Kingston 1GB PC3200 DDR CL3
Enermax Noisetaker 600W ATX V2.0
Asus GeForce 7800GTX 256B PCI-E
RedUK is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:12 AM   #138 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

it really doesnt matter about ram, cause your not OCing and any ram is sufficient enough, switching from leadtek to asus. the same card right. and the same specs right? or if they are different then you can always OC them to the right speed. and the switch from a 3700+ to 4000+ really doesnt matter sense games dont really need a big cpu

videocard>ram>cpu
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:14 AM   #139 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 131
Default

I thought that most games need only 1Gig max...
RedUK is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 11:17 AM   #140 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

not for BF2, the new low is 1GB, if you want a gaming rig you have to go with 2GBs. i mean you dont have to go with 2GBs, you cna go with 1GB but thats like buying the 300 dollar dell computer with 256MB fo ram
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.