Gaming Switches - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2006, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default Gaming Switches

OK my old switch on my network just got zapped by lighting....it was starting to get flaky any way...so i was wondering what would be a good switch for gaming...

Thnx
__________________

__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Could you explain more properly...I have no idea what your talking about
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 213
Default

ok np... my buddy set up a ISP at his house so we could have Broadband to game on...he has a T1 set up and then he broadcasts wirelessly to my house and to my radio that recieves the information then it goes to my SWITCH and divides out to 2 computers... my switch is gone and i need a good gaming switch...have no clue on a good switch to buy...


hope that helps
__________________
www.outotune.com
MSI P6N SLI-FI NForce 650i
E6300
2x1gigs 667mhz OCZ
36gb Raptor
80gig SATA Hitachi HD
500gb Seagate 32mb Cache HD
EVGA 8800GT SC 512mb
Ultra X2 X-connect 550w PSU
ProView 22" 1680x1050
BuddyRo is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ah, ya i know what your talking about, i got a switch going at my work at copy max.... i don't really know any goods ones though, we just use some d-link switch.. but i dunno, for gaming i would go with a linksys brand, i had a d-link and a belkin and they both sucked balls and skipped often... so, if linksys makes switches i say you go with that
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Get cisco, nothing beats them =P
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.