Gaming Router help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default Gaming Router help

I currently use a 56 mbps Linksys router, but since I am a gamer in constant search of lag reduction, I was thinking of upgrading to a 108G, such at this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833127158

Those inconsistent idiots at BestBuy rambled on about how this wouldn't help, but here's my situation.

I have to have a wireless router because other computers in the house are connected to it, yet my gaming desktop is connected to the router via a cable. I use DSL, and I'm wondering if this router will boost speed. Do I need something new in my computer? Do the other computers need something new in them to connect to the wireless network? HELP!
__________________

__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

a 108 mbps Ipod? ****.......
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

ARGH- My copy+paste is messed. It pasted the previous thing I copied...
Fixed now =)
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

I saw a router one time that is supposed to give gaming applications priority access to the internet, so you could look into it. I don't know what direction to go looking for it though.

Edit: Haha, I decided to check link(don't know why I didn't do it in the first place), and I think thats it. Looks good as far as I can tell.
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 04:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

the 108 is for wireless if you are useing a cable then the 108 is useless to you as is the 54.
if you want to upgrade and have some money to burn get a router/ modem with QoS which allows you to give certain ports priority
__________________
Opteron 165 @ 2.2
DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
Leadtek 7800gt
1 Gb OCZ premier @ 200mhz
Bilbotubbins is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

It says it gives 1000mbps to cable connection, so is it really useless? I think if a router is better in general it should help the cable connection...
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 05:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah that router is basicsly not going to help except in a few possible ways.

Lets say, you have cable at 5 megs. This is your limiting factor.

The only way it may help is that it has proriotizes gaming traffic (UDP packets) so that they arrive quicker than TCP packets would to the destination (Under a heavy workload, this feature is only useful if you are gaming while downloading)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

My question isn't about this over another router over this one, it's about 54mbps routers in general over 180G's. My cable connection was being constricted because I *have* to go through the wireless router anyways, so I'm asking if a 180G is going to give reduced latency over my old crappy Linksys.
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 12-20-2005, 01:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Default

bump
__________________
I am the noobzor!

|My System|
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Mobo
eVGA 256MB 7800GT
Aspire ATX 520W PSU
Corsair PC 3200 512MB X2
Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 80GB HD
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2Ghz
Creative Audigy2 ZS
WOOT!
noobzor is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 12:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
wrestlingnrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to wrestlingnrj
Default

The only thing going with a 108 router is going to help is your data transfers between computers or playing games on your network. Since you have dsl you're probably running at 1.5mbps so a 108 router isn't going to speed it up at all.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pent D 820 Smithfield - Intel D945PSN
eVGA 7800GT OC - 2GB OCZ Gold Series DDR2
Logitech Z-5500 *I like to feel my video games*
http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...FF00&c5=00FA00
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8...r232274gb4.gif
wrestlingnrj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.