Gaming rig upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Default Gaming rig upgrade?

Right now I have an AMD 64 X2 4200+ CPU with a single XFX 7800GTX. I'm putting 2 gigs of Corsair XMS2 RAM on top of the gig I already have in it for 3.

My question is, is it worth it for me to buy another 7800GTX and run them in SLi? (I have an A8n-SLi Mobo.) If not, what would you suggest would be the next upgrade. I also have an Antec 650W PSU on the way with the RAM.

Thinking about either swapping out my 7800GTX for a 7950GX2 and giving it to my bro who needs a new GPU (He has a 5700 LE...), or getting an AMX FX-57 or FX-60.

Thoughts?
__________________

Ekustix is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 12:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

It would be best to just get 2 gigs of identical RAM and run it in dual channel. When you start mixing RAM, it can sometimes cause problems.

About the graphics card, I am debating a similar thing right now. The only thing keeping me from upgrading is the fact that Vista is comming soon which means a new DirectX version as well as new cards. Gaara here knows a lot more about DX10.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea 2 gigs of ram is enough for anybody, unless you're doing heavy video editing or something else of that sort. I would get a 7900GT or a X1900XT to hold you off until the DX10 cards come out.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya

About the graphics card, I am debating a similar thing right now. The only thing keeping me from upgrading is the fact that Vista is comming soon which means a new DirectX version as well as new cards. Gaara here knows a lot more about DX10.
That's actually exactly what I was thinking. With vista and DX10...a lot of games (Crysis for one) are going to be running off of DX10 and need a card capable of handling it. I'm thinking just using what I've got now and (At this point I'm chewing up HL2 at around 140 FPS), and upgrading when Vista comes out. I haven't been following it, has microsoft released any dates?
Ekustix is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 12:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I think January 2007 is said to be the release of Vista.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 12:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Default

Cool, I should be fine until then, no sense in spending the 300 bucks for a 7900GT when that could buy Vista
Ekustix is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 12:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

if you already have an sli board, going sli might not be a bad idea... if you can find a decently priced 7800gtx (same or cheaper than 7900gt). they retail for really high right now... but maybe you can get used or something.. dont pay more than $200-$250 for one.

as for cpu, dont upgrade.. and ram, 2gbs in dc is great
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 31
Default

As for dual channel, I just bought that hot Corsair XMS2 RAM, how exactly do I setup the dualchannel?
Ekustix is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

unless you are on lynix or XP Pro don't put in 3Gb becuase it's not as fast as having only 2Gb.

also you won't need a faster cpu for a while. i think your best bet is to wait for the Dx10 cards to come out and get one of those since teh 7800 is pretty good already. unless you're really picky w/ FPS and having all graphics maxed out and high settings just aren't enough for you then stay w/ it and upgrade later.

if you feel like upgrading soon (for the sake of upgrading mostly) then look into liquid cooling or more Hard drive space.

that's my 2 cents.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 02:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ekustix
As for dual channel, I just bought that hot Corsair XMS2 RAM, how exactly do I setup the dualchannel?
since you already bought it i recommend you take out the 1gig of ram already in your system and get rid of it.. give it to your bro, or sell it, or something.. then all you have to do is install the 2 sticks of 1gb in the appropriate slots... check your motherboard manual for the proper slots.. sometimes its slot 1 and 2, sometimes its 1 and 3... and sometimes it doesn't really matter. but once you put it in the right place, you should be good to go... no need to 'setup' anything for dual channel.. it'll automatically work in dual channel.
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.