Gaming Rig - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2008, 07:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Gaming Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
get the q6600 from ClubIT they guarantee it

we don't recommend 4gb to gamers, we usually recommend it for Visual Designers and CAD users
Would I lose performance for gaming? I will also be using sony vegas to make videos of games...so maybe 4gb would help there. If it's only 80$ more I don't mind spending the extra money.

I also run x-fire, ventrilo, winamp, web pages, and all that good stuff in the background when I play games...so the extra memory could help.

Q6600 is sold out on clubIT.
__________________

Mordred is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 07:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Gaming Rig

Tiger and NewEgg have both been shipping G0 since about Dec. I think the stock of B3's are gone now. I just ordered a Q6600 2 days ago from NewEgg. Will see what I get, but lately all reviewers say they have got a G0. Ordered my other Q6600 from tiger about 1.5 months ago and got a G0 also.
__________________

__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 07:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Gaming Rig

So, I guess the common opinion is that the Q6600 is better than BLT Catalog: E8400 C2D PROCESSOR 3.00G 6MB 1333MHZ FSB (RETURNS / EXCHANGES: SEALED 30 DAYS, DEFECTIVE 15) for gaming?
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 07:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Gaming Rig

May I inquire as to why you 'loathe' AMD?
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 07:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Gaming Rig

To be honest, I don't really know why I hate AMD. I just always have.... Does it really matter anyway? The benchmarks I have seen all show that Intel is owning the gaming scene nowadays.
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 07:58 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: Gaming Rig

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordred View Post
So, I guess the common opinion is that the Q6600 is better than BLT Catalog: E8400 C2D PROCESSOR 3.00G 6MB 1333MHZ FSB (RETURNS / EXCHANGES: SEALED 30 DAYS, DEFECTIVE 15) for gaming?
Some Duo's will out preform a Quad on gaming. Games are not designed to take full advantage of quads, yet. But, there are some in the works and you stated you wanted a future proof system. Eventually games will use the Quads to their full potential. Also, where you stated that you run multiple programs in the background while gaming, a Quad would be best for this situation. A Quad will run anything on the market just fine.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 08:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Gaming Rig

yeah if you're going to be making videos of your games, or making videos in general, that might be reason to get a quad, but for strictly gaming the duo wins. Add on top of that the 45nm architecture of the new wolfdale and it will blow the Q6600 away. You can get over 4Ghz out of them easy. Quads have a lower FSB wall than Duos.
Alan Wake is supposed to be the first quad core optimized game, but they've been talking about it since 2006, and I read that it isn't even due out till 2009.... by that time we will be just getting in to Socket 1366 mobo's and the first Octo Core CPU's... and you can be sure people will jump all over the octo's even though games will only be supporting Quads LOL

Also, I got 4gb of RAM because at the time the Ballistix Tracers were $40 per 2x1gb kit after rebate, and at that price I couldn't NOT get 2, but if I had to pay regular price I would've just got 1 pair.
__________________
Build Done
Cooler Master Stacker 830 Evolution
Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4 x 1GB
Gigabyte P35-DS3L
BFG 8800GTS
E8400
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.11
Asus 20x SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Logitech G15 keyboard
Logitech G5 Mouse
Corsair 750TX PSU
Thermalright Ultima-90
Vista Home Premium 64
900RR is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 10:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Gaming Rig

Thanks for the help guys. In a week or so I will post my final decisions for review. In the mean time, anything anyone has to add will be greatly appreciated.
Mordred is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 11:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Gaming Rig

go quad core... even if the games arent designed to optimize the quad cores it does not mean that you get any less performance then you would get with a dual core...you SHOULD get more.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 11:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Gaming Rig

I'm still standing by Quad-Core Yorkfields tho, because a lot of em I've seen go to 4.0ghz + on air, and the Wolfdales seem to do the same
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Budget Gaming Rig Pezza System Upgrades 13 01-04-2008 09:25 PM
Gaming rig 650 LittleWing New Systems | Building and Buying 35 10-30-2007 01:40 PM
Help picking out parts for gaming rig Vip3r New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-28-2007 11:16 PM
1200$ gaming rig Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 09-29-2007 01:29 PM
Newbie building a high end gaming rig Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 09-24-2007 03:02 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.