gaming rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2006, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default gaming rig

If you read my previous topic you'll know I'm making my own gaming rig, I'm not going to ask you if it's a good gaming rig because I know it is, but I'm asking if I'm getting the right parts for the right price and if the system is balanced overall. I've got this (prices roughly converted from euros):

Case: Sunbeam Tuniq Symmetry 1 ($100)

PSU: Chieftec CFT-560A CM ($125)

Mobo: Asus P5B ($180)

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 ($250)

Memory: Buffalo 2x512MB DDR2-667 ($130)

GPU: Gainward 7900GT 512MB (already got it)

HDD: Maxtor DiamondMax 17 160GB ($85)

DVD & Floppy Drive / Card Reader ($70)

Total price: $940

My budget is around $1k so there's a bit more space to change parts for parts with a better price-quality ratio.

Should this be enough to keep me going for at least three years and playing the next-gen games on high res? I imagine I'll stick in a little more RAM as I go but that can always be changed.

I'm considering putting in a surround soundcard (5.1 will do), which one isn't too pricey for my needs?

Any suggestions for optimizing this rig would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Get a 580 Watt Hiper or For more a little more the 700 Watt OCZ. ( there may be a lower wattage OCZ) BUt both are still better than the power supply you posted.
As for the harddrive you can get a Bigger drive at much less cost Per GB. Seagate or WD.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

I don't really need a big hard drive, of course any hard drive that is remarkably bigger and around that price would do.

As for the power supply, I'll look into it. Thanks.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

So far I've got this upgraded. Will cost me an extra $15-ish.

PSU: Chieftec CFT 620A (same price o_O)
HDD: Maxtor DiamondMax 10 250gb ($100)

Still both the same brands, just better parts for nearly the same price.

On the hard disk part, the Seagates and Western Digitals they were selling were a bit too big for my liking, or they were more expensive per GB than the Maxtor I picked now.
The Hipers they got are a lot of buck for just 20 extra Watt, the 700 Watt OCZ is relatively as expensive as the Chieftec but I reckon it'll be a bit too much for me, right? There's a 600W OCZ around but for an extra $25, is that worth it? Considering the Chieftec I got now is 620 and cheaper.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

on newegg you can get a 250gb hdd for 80 bucks
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 03:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
on newegg you can get a 250gb hdd for 80 bucks
Shipment to Holland, payment by creditcard... no can do.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 08:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Maxtor... unless it is one of the newest ones, since Seagate took over... No, I still wouldn't buy it.

Seagate or Western Digital are the best.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 09:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Default

i wud get 2gb of ram now cuz ive heard it makes alot of difrence and i think if you get 4x 512mb ram it runs slower then 2x 1 gb
UT-44 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 11:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

True, UT. If you plan on gaming, two gig is the sweet spot.

If you can't afford two gigs off the bat, go for a single stick of one gig, then add another later.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 07:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Looking into that, if anyone can tell me the difference between the RAM speeds, which is smarter to get (mobo supports 533, 667 and 800)
__________________

Phrantic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.