Gaming Laptop - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 03:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

I wasnt aware that you could "build" a laptop from barebone...can you?

And besides i firmly belive hat after playing AoE 3 on a Dell Inspiron w/ 2.4GHz that a laptop is strictly for email, media, and office work....NOT gaming! The lag is soo bad and it eats up ur memory! If u HAVE to get a laptop, get a mid to high end Alienware...that is if you can bear the weight of a hefty price tag!
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

i wasnt talking bout a Inspiron, i was talking about an XPS laptop
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

well i personaly believe that the XPS model is just an attempt from Dell to "one-up" on the Alienware series...i wouldnt trust Dell with a calculator! Go for Alienware or none (i.e. a Desktop! which IS made for gaming)
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 06:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Dell left a very bitter taste in my mouth....extremely hard to upgrade with them....But I wouldnt mind having an XPS laptop, BUT I would Love an alienware.....
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 06:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default

as i said before, xtremenotebooks.com sells the same exact laptops alienware does but without the label and for a lesser cost.
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 06:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Like people said before, the XPS Laptops, alienware, sager are all great, but all very expensive so beware to be dropping around 3 grand on a laptop to play BF2 at max settings.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 03:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

Sorry for the late reply but I been busy.Anyways I like those Extreme notebooks.I have no prob spending 3 grand kinda what I was expecting.I'll probaly have like a few battery and Ill be using it at work where I can plug it in the wall.Or in my truck via huge power converter.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 03:20 PM   #18 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cvb724
well the intel core duo's are looking pretty sweet right now.
Agreed. If you can find one with good graphics.

BTW, f34ky, have I ever told you your avatar owns?
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 03:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default

lol yes it does. nice. the ones at xtremenotebooks offer the option of a 7800GTX graphics card so they're a great site to start looking
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 11:41 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 339
Default

roar dell not bad. i got one of their desktops and it games pretty good. i seriously had it for over three years and had no bad problems. and this isnt even an xps but it still games good enough. its just you have to spend more than nessary and next time its my own build, keep in mind even tho dell uses generic parts doesnt mean it will cause problems... they modify alll the parts to work iwth "their" system so it should work well, but it wont always use all the fastest stuff, and their biggest drawback is that they dont use AMD processors.
__________________

__________________
DarkMortar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.