Gaming Hard Drive(s) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2006, 02:19 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Far As I know 16 MB Cache is relativily new. Most HD's are still 8 MB.
It has to do with binary. For example, we have many 64 Bit compatible CPUS now, however the software and much hardware has not been designed to use 64 Bit paths yet. So its probably similar to HD's having 16MB cache. They will get bigger in the future.
So the reason is that Larger Caches are probably still in development or they have some electrical problem to overcome before then Can expand to larger Caches.
Just a Guess, if you want you could google around.

The thing to remember here is that Cache in this context is Hardware oriented. It is only a holding cell for information requested by the CPU.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 02:24 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Yea I have a basic knowledge of Binary, but not full blown. I think I just may have to google that. I wonder if someday, since I don't know if hard drives can really spin any faster then SCSI speeds, if the cache can maybe reach 1gig? Or would their be no point for that?
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 02:26 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheOtis
Yea I have a basic knowledge of Binary, but not full blown. I think I just may have to google that. I wonder if someday, since I don't know if hard drives can really spin any faster then SCSI speeds, if the cache can maybe reach 1gig? Or would their be no point for that?
Eventually it would if we continue to use the current Harddrive designs,
they may develop a different Types of storage by then.
Ste is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 02:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

I see. After reading about the Gigabyte i-ram or whatever, it got me thinking of someday that would take over data storage. It just seems like hard drives are so limited to what they can and can't do. And using memory is wayyyy faster. But it wouldn't be benificial(sp) to anyone if it'll only continute to support up to 4gigs. And as far as I know the largets memory module you can buy is only a 2 gig. And the price would have to come down considerably in price.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:19 PM   #25 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

well i got 2 and im adding a 250 for space as my 80gb is full
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

"2x 36 gb raptor in radi 20000 rpm "

If I were you i'd edit your sig duder.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:36 PM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

"2x 36 gb raptor in radi 20000 rpm"

LOL

wow that just made my day.

I guess this means I have a 5.8 GHz Processor!!!
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:42 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

Hahaha,and I have a 5.2 Ghz!!! Oh wouldn't that be sweet.

I had a good laugh at that as well.

I'm sure the "the radi" was a typo. I think someone REALLY must of missinformed him.

2 hard drives running at 10k rpms does NOT mean that they're running at the equivilant(sp) of a 20k rpm hard drive. And I don't see that ever happening in the near future. 15K rpm is rediculously fast as it is.


EDIT: If he honsetly thought that it means they run at 20k then we, as a forum whole, must of REALLY missinformed him haha.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.