Gaming on dual monitors? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2008, 09:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default Re: Gaming on dual monitors?

but gaming in full screen is so much more intense! lol
__________________

__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 09:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Gaming on dual monitors?

lol. i always have run dual monitors ever since i have figured out how. i usually game on my left one, and have wmp and my temps open in the other (along with myspaceim, msn, yahoo, and task manager)
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 10:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Gaming on dual monitors?

*cough gay sli cough*
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Gaming on dual monitors?

I play wow in windowed mode, and it fills the screen, while still allowing my mouse to move to the 2nd monitor just fine.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Gaming on dual monitors?

But to do that you have to press esc or whatever to pause the game.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 268
Default Re: Gaming on dual monitors?

meh.. i'll just stick to my laptop next to my keyboard.
__________________
Intel Q9550
Gigabyte P45T - USB3P
evga 8800GTS 512MB
evga 8800GTS 512MB
Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 2x2GB
Razer Baraccuda AC-1 Sound card
Western Digital 320GB SATA
Caviar Black 1TB
Samsung 12xDVD-RAM (x2)
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Logitech G9x Mice
Logitech Z-5500 Speakers
Samsung 22" monitor
Samsung 19" monitor
Antec twelve hundred
joowan is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Gaming on dual monitors?

what i think would be pretty cool, say for instance a game like halo, you have one monitor as your main / front view, and you have another monitor that will look behind you or show little windows with different views of your body or something. kinda like flight sim x

just some food for thought
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 01:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Gaming on dual monitors?

supreme commander can utilize two monitors, its useful because u can leave one screen at ur base to watch for attacks and do other stuff in the other screen.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual monitors in sli? Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 21 01-27-2008 01:09 AM
ATI 9800 Pro Dual Monitors? Looby Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-09-2007 12:30 AM
Dual View Monitors Nitrocrusher Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-27-2007 06:55 PM
Dual monitors question matthewgilchris Computer Audio and Multimedia 6 08-20-2007 02:35 PM
Dual Monitors and Performance will h4x 4 food New Systems | Building and Buying 11 04-17-2007 08:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.