Gaming CPU! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2006, 07:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110
Lightbulb Gaming CPU!

I am planning on building my first computer very soon but i still am having trouble deciding on which AMD processor I want to purchase. I am big into gaming and want one that will run the latest games
with little or no problem. I am on a budget though and dont want to spent more than $200 (im 16). I was thinking about getting this one-
but I wanted to get your opinions first before I make this purchase.

Btw, i will be posting my build parts soon just to see what you guys think and if yall have any suggestions or advice (trust me, imma need them!).


xxdeadweightxx is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
zmatt's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660

yeah thats a good cpu to go with. i would recomend that you take careful concideration in your motherboard. make sure it uses pci express and not agp, it uses SATA and not standard ide, and that is has plenty of slots and plugs for expansion. that way you wont need to buy a new machine for a few years, instead you just upgrade you components.


<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110

ok thanks man, I needed just a little extra input for me to make my decision
xxdeadweightxx is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

dont forget this...

1mb of cache, and a excellent OC'er...other one only had 512...

Keep that in mind

May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841

I have an Opteron 146 and it's working great for me. I have it at 2.5ghz at stock voltage. I haven't went any higher because I haven't got around to trying and it doesn't really need it. It has the 1MB cache too so I recommend getting a 144 or 146 over the Athlon.
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626

Opteron will overclock very nicely. The extra cache is a plus also.

Next time you ask for help on a specific item, you can simply list it in your post instead of linking it without saying what it is, as most of us here will know what it is.
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 09:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686

Both look fine, they both overclock very nicely and can handle todays games fine.

slick_tech15 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.