Gaming Computer - Thoughts? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 07:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

i kno i dont need the same brand but i really like the brand thats y i picked it out. i'm lookin at a pentium d presler right now. new 65nm process type, i really like intel and i've never had an amd. i'll probably just get a PD for the better mutlitaskin and it'll play the new games just maybe not as good as an AMD.
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

yeh i never had amd. . but now i do i tried to refuse using intels in school but the teacher was like ok but youll fail i was like nooooo so thats the only reason why i still use intel... :P
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by meefle
i'm lookin at a pentium d presler right now. new 65nm process type, i really like intel and i've never had an amd. i'll probably just get a PD for the better mutlitaskin and it'll play the new games just maybe not as good as an AMD.
let the flame begin...
i wont say anything...
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Nice mobo, but if your OCing stick with DFI.

I'd only buy PC Power and Cooling, OCZ or Antec PSU's. I've heard FS Norton is decent too.

Either go with the x2 3800+ or the x2 4400+, the x2 4200+'s speeds can easily be reached by OCing the x2 3800+ by just a little.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 09:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

ok well i've decide (well i think) to go with the x2 4400+. i couldnt find a good intel mobo with ddr (i wanna use my g.skill ram from this computer) and that supports P EE and P D. i think i'll stay with the MSI K8N Diamond mobo. A differenet PSU might be nice and i need some help with RAID and HDs. Wut does RAID do and what do i need to use RAID (just 2 hds or do i need a RAID card or something?)
__________________

__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.