Gaming computer questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2006, 06:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Default Gaming computer questions

OK i am looking to have a computer built for me when I get my taxes back .It will be for gaming only.What would you guys build if you had about 1300$Also I have never built one before but I know I could assemble the thing but I dont know how to boot it up from dead and get windows xp installed.I dont know much about computers so I need all the info I can get.

Now the moniter:
I want this one http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...tegory_id=4009
The only games I play now are Battelfeild 2 and Nascar racing 2003 sometimes Tiger Toods Golf.I read BF2 doesnt support wide screen does this make sence do games have to support wide screen and what would they look like if they dont.Do you think gosting would be a problem on this moniter?

Thanks for any info offered
__________________

jeremy78951 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

You have a $1300 budget and yet you're going to spend almost 900 for a monitor? From Dell?

Good luck.

If I were you, I would keep a current monitor or get a decent CRT and put the rest into hardware. Limited time this morning, but I can help you this afternoon if no one else has.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default

1300 bucks for the tower or for the whole system?

I believe you could build something that wouldn't "ghost" on you, but that doesn't mean it won't still happen if you are using a dial-up connection.

<<If I were you, I would keep a current monitor or get a decent CRT and put the rest into hardware. Limited time this morning, but I can help you this afternoon if no one else has.>>

I completely agree with that statement.
__________________
My system: (updated)
AMD 64 X2 4400+ (Fast!)
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gigs OCZ DDR400/PC 3200 (Fast!)
WD Raptor 150gb SATA 10,000rpm
WD 250gig X 2 RAID 0
Thermaltake Tai-Chi case with W/C
BFG Tech Nvidia 7800GTX X 2 SLI\'d
<b>\"If everyone is thinking alike, then someone isn\'t thinking.\"</b> --General George S. Patton
<i>MSN=adydaoc@msn.com Yahoo=ady_1201@yahoo.com</i>
Techguru75 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 02:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Wow why not get say a $200 monitor and then have $2000 for a comp
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 49
Default

1300 just for the computer itself the moniter is seprate.Is this not enough to build a decent gaming rig?If it isnt to bad for me becouse I already think this is a little much just to play video games
jeremy78951 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

that's plenty of cash to build a good rig. IM me on on AOL if you need help configuring. Any of the other guys would be happy to help, but don't take thier advice w/out second opinions.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 09:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default

1300 for the tower is sufficient to put something together. I would make sure I checked Newegg.com first before I bought something retail, because they usually have the best prices on whatever you are buying. Example, the RAM for my new system is almost 40 bucks cheaper a stick there vs. my local computer parts store.
__________________
My system: (updated)
AMD 64 X2 4400+ (Fast!)
Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe
2gigs OCZ DDR400/PC 3200 (Fast!)
WD Raptor 150gb SATA 10,000rpm
WD 250gig X 2 RAID 0
Thermaltake Tai-Chi case with W/C
BFG Tech Nvidia 7800GTX X 2 SLI\'d
<b>\"If everyone is thinking alike, then someone isn\'t thinking.\"</b> --General George S. Patton
<i>MSN=adydaoc@msn.com Yahoo=ady_1201@yahoo.com</i>
Techguru75 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 12:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

My tower only cost me $820, after shipping it was $890. Got it all on NewEgg.com. I play any game on full settings...except fear which I play on all high settings. Now with $1300, you could get what I got and upgrade say the video card to a 7800GT/X, and the processor to a Opteron 175 (whatever a good one is, idk optys yet). Good luck, you should come out with pretty decent system.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.