Gaming Computer - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2006, 11:16 AM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Heres some comparisons on AMD vs Intel processors
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 11:22 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default

I see, AMD out-runs intel on the games I see on there. lol So those links you gave me to the mobo, video card, and processor are all compatible with eachother and would run games very nicely?
__________________

Arbitus is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 11:26 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Yes those components would run any game out now on max settings as long as you get some decent RAM with them, 2GB may be necessary.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 11:32 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default

haha I think I just might have to get these then. Thanks a lot.

Would my old DDR ram work with the mobo? I have two 256MB sticks, I think they are kingston, but I'll check later.

What exact kind of ram does it take and how much would 2GB run me?

EDIT:

Oh, and would all this fit in my either of my standard Emachine cases?
Arbitus is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 11:36 AM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

It is compatible with DDR400, DDR333 and DDR266. You probably have DDR266 which will slow down your system by quite a bit. This is a good 2GB set

G.SKILL Value 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM System Memory - Retail
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 11:57 AM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

That's pretty funny, after a long talk you came up with a 3200+, a ePOX mobo and still don't know what Video Card... lol
HAVOC is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:22 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default

haha well it wasn't that long :-/ and I had given him a different budget then here. I decided to up it a bit.

Oh, and would all this fit in my either of my standard Emachine cases?
Arbitus is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 07:14 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Wow, this thread was painful to read.

Processor - AMD Opteron 148 (2.4Ghz, 1MB L2 cache). Equivalent of a Pentium 4 3.7GHz on stock speeds. Potential to overclock to 2.9GHz, making it equal a 4.64GHz Pentium 4. Link below;
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103596

Motherboard - MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum. One of the best around. Link;
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130484

The videocards that you've chosen have SUCKED. They're been bottom-of-the-barrel cards that aeren't worthy of people in a gaming PC.

Videocard; eVGA GeForce 6800GS. Awesome card, excellent price/performance. Link;
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127200

No, you need a new case.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 09:35 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default

haha thanks a lot.

I still havn't decided one what to get, but what you just posted looked really nice.
Arbitus is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 09:39 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

If your budget is $300 for each item, then that is probably the best you'll get.

You still need a new case. That stuff won't fit in your tiny e-machines case.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.