Gaming Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default Gaming Computer

I just had a long talk with a friend who suggested this:

Processor: Athlon 64 3200+ (or better) 939 Socket
Video Card: Not to sure on the video card yet, maybe a Radeon PCI express 256 DDR. Like this
Motherboard: 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Here

Then I plan on putting 1GB ram with a 60GB hard drive and my CD/DVD-R+R Burner

That sound like a pretty good gaming machine? Any suggestions or changes you think I should make. This all sorta fit nicely into what I want to spend, but I'll go farther if I have to.

haha, sorry my bad. I put the processor down as the video card. There I updated it.
__________________

Arbitus is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Need to know graphics card.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default

There I updated it. Silly typo lol
Arbitus is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

I don't know but i would at least get a DFI LANPARTY UT nf4 ULTRA-D that's because later on in your life you will be able to sli your graphics cards, (have 2 on them in 1 comp) it about 40% increase in preformance but still halla good.

ALSO, get the 3700+ it's much better, and it's only about 70$ more, saying that your budget isn't that tight.

Im guessing it's about 500-600$?
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

BOOO RADEON YAY gForce!!!

GET a 6800GT it's able to handle new games very well in mid-high settings.

Ops, your on a tight budget, then go with the 6600GT or LE it's about 130-80$ it handles games very good in mid settings.

Other then that kik a$$ system
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default

Well, I know I've been changing my mind a lot (So much to pick from, it's so hard!) but I found a Motherboard, graphics card, and processor that seems to look all good.

Could somebody tell me if it would all be compatible with each other and if it all will run the latest games out now?

Video card: Here
Motherboard: Here (This seems pretty cheap, is there anything wrong with it that I'm not seeing?)
Processor: Here

It all is perfectly within my price range and it all seems to be something that would run the newer, more demanding games.

Thanks
Arbitus is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

Can you just give me you'r Budget, +whatever parts you already have, i'll give you a top comp for that budget.

Because that comp will have a hard time trying to run BF2 at mid settings. Mostly caz of the video card. CO2 will run pourly at low settings. DOOM 3 will run ok at mid settings.

Email me your budget at: dawizhacker@gmail.com

Trust me you don't want to spend 500$ for that...
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 10:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default

oh, I don't know what my budget is. I plan on buying each part at different times. but for one item I think my budget would be somewhere around $300

right now I have an emachine which I plan on using most of the parts from if it's compatible with the new stuff I'm getting. I think I really only need a motherboard, processor, video card, and if what i have won't work with those (fan, ram, etc) then I could buy those too.
Arbitus is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 10:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

So i have a 300$ dollars to spend on the mobo, cpu, video card? is that right? or is it 300$ per item?
__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 10:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to Arbitus
Default

Per Item , I think that for each paycheck (or two) I'll be buying each.
__________________

Arbitus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.