Gaming Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2006, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default Gaming Computer

Hi all.

I've got round to that stage when you realise you need a new computer. I thought i'd bite the bullet this time and built it myself. Budget - a smallish total of £500 ($950).

My first question was AMD or Intel. I've always been a fan of AMD, but looking at the facts Intel is my choice using one of their Core 2 Duo chips.

Anther question then faced me: ATI or nVidia. Again I looked at the facts and have chosen nVidia.

Decision wise that is as far as I have got. The next big question is whether to go for SLI or not. With my budget SLI would be possible, but I'd miss out on features from using cheaper motherboards and other components to stay in budget. What is your experience of SLI? Two reasonable nVidia cards in SLI or one good one alone?

If I went with SLI, I would then probably go for the ASUS P5NSLI because it's cheap and has alright features. Downsides are that it lacks overclocking abilities, lacks some features and runs hot. Other options are the ECS NFORCE 570 SLIT-A (V5.1) and Jetway 775GT2-LOG.

In short, should I go for SLI or not or a mid-range/budget gaming rig?

Any comments appreciated,

Jamie Salter
__________________

jamiesalter is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

there is already a thread just like this
http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=130324

just go through there

but core 2 is they way to go for now and for a long time
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Just go with one good vid card then you can sli it with another l8ter when u get the funds and fade dont count amd out just yet
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

im not counting them out i do believe they will be on top once again just not for awhile

i mean AM2 is a joke you have to pay almost $300 for 2mb l2 cache
while intel core 2 you can get 4mb l2 cache for the same price with a higher fsb.

i dont think amd will be on top again for at least a year or so
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Yeah well....Go amd!
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 10:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

For gaming on a budget, go for either an AMD 939 or AM2.

Socket 939's use DDR memory, AM2 use DDR2. Other than having to choose a motherboard that matches your socket choice, the rest of the system would be the same.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 10:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

amd is a great choice for cheap gaming, if you don't need number crunching or care about super pi and burning cd incredibly fast you can make a socket 939 computer for incredibly cheap
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 04:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I've decided to up my budget a bit, stick with intel and not go with sli.

What do you think of the following setup:

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 (BX805576400)
£147.63 - www.ebuyer.co.uk

Motherboard: Gigabyte P965 DS3 (GA-965P-DS3)
£93.99 - www.scan.co.uk

Memory: 2Gb(2X1Gb) CorsairTwinX XMS2 Dominator (TWIN2X2048-6400C4D)
£218.14 - www.scan.co.uk

Graphics Card: MSI GeForce 7900GTO 512MB (NX7900GTO-T2D512E)
£189.16 - www.scan.co.uk

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB SATA 300 (WD2500KS)
£50.51 - www.dabs.com

Optical Drive: Samsung DVD±RW (SH-S182D)
£24.48 - www.dabs.com

PSU: Akasa 550W (AK-P550FH)
£78.60 - www.scan.co.uk

Total without extra cooling and case = £802.50

What do you guys think?

All comments welcome.


Oh and one more thing, is it possible to run two SLI nvidia cards on an intel 975X based motherboard? I saw something like it in this link: http://www.techenclave.com/forums/79...gto-81716.html (scroll down the page a bit).
jamiesalter is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 04:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

Don't know about that power supply; how about this? It's a great power supply for the money. (And is cheaper)
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 05:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

Man, thats a really good computer. It's crazy how so little money can get you medium high parts..

But yeah get a different PSU. It's something you need not be hesitant in price about.

Get maybe a 600/650W
So when you run SLI if you do, you won't need to upgrade that.
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.