Gaming comp upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2006, 10:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Gaming comp upgrade

Hey Guys,
I'm upgrading my computer within 2-3 weeks, I was thinking of the following... (It will mainly be used for gaming such as BF2142, BF2, FEAR, CS Source, HL2, Rainbow Six Vegas, Prey etc).

Intel Core 2 Duo (2.13ghz -2mb cache) - $305AUD

Abit AA8XE Intel 925XE(EOL) motherboard - $215AUD

Corsair 1GB 2x512mb kit DDR2 XMS205400C4 - $230AUD

Asus X1950PRO, 256mb, DDR3, PCIEx16 - $315AUD


I have a budget of about $1200 AUD at max. My current specs are in my sig. I will be transferring the HDDS, etc etc over.
I would also like suggestions in what would be a good crossfire motherboard? as the one i'm getting doesn't support it.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 03:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

***Bump***
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 08:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

I havent got time to type an essay but i would say that system would have no problem running any of those games on high settings!?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-03-2006, 09:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

get a 1gb stick...it will run faster and you can get another stick later to upgrade to 2gb(4x512 will run slower then 2x1gb).

what PSU are you going use for the new rig?
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 01:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darkop16
get a 1gb stick...it will run faster and you can get another stick later to upgrade to 2gb(4x512 will run slower then 2x1gb).

what PSU are you going use for the new rig?
I've got a thermaltake 450W with 12V rails. It's the one that comes stock standard on the Thermaltake Soprano Case.

*EDIT* Sorry just another quick question, I haven't actually got any SATA drives running, just two ata 133's, will they run on my new motherboard or will i have to go out and buy sata drives?

**SORRY ANOTHER EDIT**
I have just changed my parts list slightly, please see below:

Gigabyte 965P-S3 Conroe Motherboard = $169AUD

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Processor = $305AUD

256mb X1950 PRO Sapphire = $307AUD OR 512mb 7950gt???

1gb Kit Corsair DDR2 667 5300 = $173AUD
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

7950gt performs better than X1950pro
maroon1 is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 11:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
7950gt performs better than X1950pro
'Tis true, and definately go with the 1gb stick of memory to upgrade later. Both Battlefields eat memory for lunch.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.6
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
2x GIGABYTE 7600GT Silent Pipe SLI @ 607/800
OCZ Platinum 2GB DDR 400 @ 220 2.5-3-3-5
Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM
X-Fi Platinum
SeaSonic 600W
bzflag is offline  
Old 12-04-2006, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

yeah i forgot that, you will need more than 1 gig of ram for Battlefield games, when i was playing 2142 i looked in taskmanger and it was using nearly a gig of memory!
And get the Nvidia, you know you want to! mine can run Battlefield 2142 max settings, highest resolution with no lagging and it looks amazing
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 01:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

that's really weird though, the X1950 Pro comes with better specs on paper... but u guys say that the 7950GT (not the GX2, just being clear on that), actually performs better... guess ill stick with that.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 05:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

The X1950 doesn't have better specs on paper

X1950pro 12pipes, 36 shader processors, 575MHz clock speed, 1400Mhz mempory speed, 256MB memory

7950GT 24pipes, 24shader processors 550MHz clock speed, 1400MHz memory speed, 512MB memory

Also, don't forget that brands like BFG or eVGA overclock their cards

In benchmarks the 7950GT performs better than X1950pro
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.