Game desktop (help a brother out!) - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2013, 01:06 PM   #61 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

But if I mount the mobo using the pins with the yellow dots (which is impossible because they don't align with the holes on the mobo) then my video/audio outputs are facing the wrong direction as well. Are you sure this works with the Asus b85m-g motherboard? My motherboard isn't even large enough to cover all seven demarcated mounts.

The bottom left one has a hole like the other ones. The (lowest) middle bump is made from some kind of metal I think.

The only way the motherboard can be fitted I think is with the longest side (of the rectangle) facing the left and right sides of the picture. That means that both left holes marked with an M won't be covered and that the strange (lowest) middle bump is going through one of the six holes on the mobo.

Another hole on the mobo (bottom right) wouldn't have a bump/hole corresponding with it on the case.
__________________

Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:15 PM   #62 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Sounds like you're trying to put that board in backwards. The I/O goes out the top left on the other side of the fan. Yes, the case will work with that board.

Should go in just like this with the numbers matching the holes. #5 in the Newegg picture has a piece of rubber there which can be placed or left off. #6 or "nothing" will not have a hole and is normal.

__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:22 PM   #63 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

THANK YOU SO MUCH!

I haven't found a rubber part though but I think I could put a screw in there... Should I do that or just leave it open? If there's a hole over it I might as well screw it down right?
Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:28 PM   #64 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

If it will screw, go with screw.

Better idea, if you find the rubber, put it on the motherboard tray under that hole where I put nothing. In case you press to hard it won't touch bare case.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:43 PM   #65 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Almost fit my motherboard in. I've tried to get the i/o through the i/o shield a dozen times so far but there's these stupid metal thingies sticking out. My i/o shield isn't just a metal piece with holes in it, there's like these metal... I don't know what to call them... pieces sticking out (pointing inwards when I fit the i/o) and it makes it impossible to fit the mobo. Should I just rip those off or did I put my i/o shield in wrong? Though I tried to fit it like a dozen times in different positions but this is the only one that really holds.
Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:48 PM   #66 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

http://surplusandparts.com/images/io...nnel_plate.JPG

this one looks like the one I have.
Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:48 PM   #67 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

They are meant to be that way lol. If you don't want to use the shield, take it out. I have never used mine in my own machines as I swap hardware too much.

If you want to use it, you need to have a screw ready, hold the motherboard against the shield in the proper position, (stuff in the holes, will take some pressure), then screw in the top right screw to hold it there. Position the board so the hole on the bottom left is aligned, screw it in, should be good to go.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:56 PM   #68 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 60
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Right well, this just shows how technical I really am. If I leave it off, won't dust get in the system and isn't that dangerous?
Major Rawne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 02:31 PM   #69 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Dust will get in the system regardless. You will need to clean your PC every 6-8 months.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:17 PM   #70 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,512
Default Re: Game desktop (help a brother out!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
They are meant to be that way lol. If you don't want to use the shield, take it out. I have never used mine in my own machines as I swap hardware too much.

If you want to use it, you need to have a screw ready, hold the motherboard against the shield in the proper position, (stuff in the holes, will take some pressure), then screw in the top right screw to hold it there. Position the board so the hole on the bottom left is aligned, screw it in, should be good to go.
I've never had to have the motherboard "hold" the IO shield in. It always snaps into the case in every one I've done.

Make sure you're using the one that the motherboard came with rather than the one that's installed in the case. They usually have different port layouts and such.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktop, gaming, price-value, thank you, urgent

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.